# Minnesota Data Center Permits Tracker
Source: https://savrn.com/data-center-permits-tracker/minnesota
Markdown alternate of the page above; the site index is https://savrn.com/llms.txt

---

SAVRN Tracker

# Minnesota Data Center Permits Tracker

Minnesota has 1 data center and substation permit on record, 10,703 MW of generation and storage requested in the interconnection queue and 1,780 MW of generation planned within 36 months. Every row below links to its primary source.

Last checked Oct 24, 2026

1

Data center & substation permits

of 1 total utility-scale permits tracked here

10,703MW

In the interconnection queue

47 active generation and storage positions

1,780MW

Planned generation

31 EIA-860M generators due within 36 months

#11

of 51 states with anything on record

Ranked by data center & substation permit count

## Where the activity is

Ranked by row count. Counts are never mixed with the MW figures above.

### Permit categories

Data center 1

### Top counties · queue, substation & state air rows

Goodhue 4

Clay 3

Dakota 3

Mower 3

Redwood 3

Big Stone 2

Lac qui Parle 2

Meeker 2

## Permits in Minnesota

1 building and land-use permit tracked in Minnesota.

| Date | Category | Address | Applicant | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Sep 10, 2026 | Data center | 1001 3RD AVE SCity of Minneapolis construction permits (CCS) | GARDNER BUILDERS |  |

## Interconnection queue in Minnesota

10,703 MW requested across 47 active generation and storage positions. Withdrawn and in-service rows are left out, matching the national page.

| ISO | Project | Fuel | MW | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| MISO | Riel (MH) - Roseau County North 500.0kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYRoseau County | Solar | 500 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Cedar Mountain - Lyon County 345.0kVMINNESOTA MUNICIPAL POWER AGENCY M2PARedwood County | Battery storage | 500 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | ADAMSNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYMower County | Battery storage | 500 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | SHERBURNE CONORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYMeeker County | Battery storage | 500 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | ALEXANDRIA - BISON 345.0kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYClay County | Solar | 430 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | NROC 3 (601039) to PR ISLD3 (601003) 345 kV lineNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYGoodhue County | Battery storage | 330 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | HAMPTON 345 KVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYDakota County | Battery storage | 300 MW | Active; not started |  |
| MISO | Big Stone South - Alexandria 345kVOTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY OTPBig Stone County | Onshore wind | 300 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Hampton - Prairie Island 345.0kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYGoodhue County | Solar | 300 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Big Stone South - Alexandira 345kVOTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY OTPBig Stone County | Onshore wind | 300 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Big Stone South - Deuel County 345.0kVOTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY OTPLac qui Parle County | Onshore wind | 300 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Lakefield Junction 345kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYCottonwood County | Fuel not stated | 300 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Wilmarth - Fieldon 345.0kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYBlue Earth County | Solar | 299 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | WabacoDAIRYLAND POWER COOPERATIVE DPCWabasha County | Battery storage | 250 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Lyon County - Brookings County 345.0kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYLyon County | Battery storage | 250 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Cedar Mountain - Lyon County 345.0kVMINNESOTA MUNICIPAL POWER AGENCY M2PARedwood County | Solar | 250 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | ALEXANDRIA - BISON 345.0kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYClay County | Solar | 245 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | ALEXANDRIA - BISON 345.0kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYClay County | Solar | 245 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | North Rochester - Prairie Island 345.0kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYGoodhue County | Battery storage | 240 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Cedar Mountain - Lyon County 345.0kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYMurray County | Onshore wind | 230 MW | Active; not started |  |
| MISO | MagnoliaNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYRock County | Fuel not stated | 230 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Cedar Mountain - Lyon County 345.0kVMINNESOTA MUNICIPAL POWER AGENCYRedwood County | Solar | 225 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Cedar Mountain - Lyon County 345.0kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYMurray County | Onshore wind | 200 MW | Active; not started |  |
| MISO | Adams - Hayward 161kVITC MIDWESTFreeborn County | Solar | 200 MW | Active; not started |  |
| MISO | Big Stone South - Deuel County 345.0kVOTTER TAIL POWER COMPANY OTPLac qui Parle County | Onshore wind | 200 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Nininger 115 kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYDakota County | Battery storage | 200 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Fox Lake - Jackson North 161kVITC MIDWESTJackson County | Onshore wind | 200 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | ALEXANDRIA - BISON 345.0kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYOtter Tail County | Onshore wind | 200 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | SHERBURNE CONORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYMeeker County | Onshore wind | 200 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | NOBLES COUNTYNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYNobles County | Battery storage | 200 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Calamus EastGREAT RIVER ENERGYClinton County | Fuel not stated | 200 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Byron 161 kVSOUTHERN MINNESOTA MUNICIPAL POWER AGENCYOlmsted County | Battery storage | 200 MW | Active; not started |  |
| MISO | North Austin - Adams (ITC) 161.0kVSOUTHERN MINNESOTA MUNICIPAL POWER AGENCYMower County | Solar | 185 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | CHUB LAKE - 304JB21/22 - HAMPTON - 8S50/51 345.0kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYDakota County | Solar | 150 MW | Active; not started |  |
| MISO | Iron Ridge - Benton 345kVMINNESOTA POWER INC.Morrison County | Onshore wind | 150 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | RutlandSOUTHERN MINNESOTA MUNICIPAL POWER AGENCYMartin County | Battery storage | 150 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | MISO S1154GREAT RIVER ENERGY | Fuel not stated | 150 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | Blue Lake - MCLEOD (GRE) 230.0kVNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYMcLeod County | Solar | 129 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | FRANKLINNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYRenville County | Solar | 125 MW | Active; not started |  |
| MISO | Other_NORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYGoodhue County | Onshore wind | 120 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | MISO S1166NORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANY | Fuel not stated | 109 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | ByronSOUTHERN MINNESOTA MUNICIPAL POWER AGENCYOlmsted County | Solar | 100 MW | Done; not started |  |
| MISO | AdamsMower County | Battery storage | 100 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | GRE-BENTON 7 115kVGREAT RIVER ENERGYBenton County | Battery storage | 100 MW | Active |  |
| MISO | CHISAGO COUNTYNORTHERN STATES POWER COMPANYChisago County | Battery storage | 100 MW | Active |  |
| SPP | AFS NJG-2025-003Moorhead County | Natural gas | 6 MW |  |  |
| SPP | AFS NJG-2025-004Moorhead County | Natural gas | 6 MW |  |  |

## Planned generation in Minnesota

1,780 MW across 31 EIA-860M generators scheduled to enter service within 36 months.

| Plant | Technology | MW | Planned | Status | Source |
| --- | --- | --- | --- | --- | --- |
| Sherco BESSSherburne County | Batteries | 300 MW | Dec 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Sherco BESSSherburne County | Batteries | 300 MW | Nov 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Dodge County WindDodge County | Onshore Wind Turbine | 228 MW | Dec 2027 | Regulatory approvals received. Not under construction |  |
| Lyon County Generating StationLyon County | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 210 MW | Dec 2028 | Regulatory approvals pending. Not under construction |  |
| Lyon County Generating StationLyon County | Natural Gas Fired Combustion Turbine | 210 MW | Dec 2028 | Regulatory approvals pending. Not under construction |  |
| Plum CreekCottonwood County | Onshore Wind Turbine | 200 MW | Dec 2028 | Regulatory approvals pending. Not under construction |  |
| Blue Lake BESSScott County | Batteries | 136 MW | May 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| North Star Energy Storage, LLCChisago County | Batteries | 80 MW | Apr 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Solway SolarBeltrami County | Solar Photovoltaic | 50 MW | Dec 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Sherco LDESSherburne County | Batteries | 10 MW | May 2028 | Regulatory approvals received. Not under construction |  |
| Franklin Heating StationOlmsted County | Natural Gas Fired Combined Cycle | 8 MW | May 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Crane Creek GardenWaseca County | Solar Photovoltaic | 5 MW | Nov 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Mazaska GardenRice County | Solar Photovoltaic | 5 MW | Nov 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Kraemer GardenStearns County | Solar Photovoltaic | 4 MW | Oct 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Franklin Heating StationOlmsted County | Petroleum Liquids | 3 MW | May 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Franklin Heating StationOlmsted County | Petroleum Liquids | 3 MW | May 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Franklin Heating StationOlmsted County | Petroleum Liquids | 3 MW | May 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Franklin Heating StationOlmsted County | Petroleum Liquids | 3 MW | May 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Franklin Heating StationOlmsted County | Petroleum Liquids | 3 MW | May 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Franklin Heating StationOlmsted County | Petroleum Liquids | 3 MW | Jan 2028 | Regulatory approvals received. Not under construction |  |
| KalmarOlmsted County | Solar Photovoltaic | 2 MW | Dec 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| RingeOlmsted County | Solar Photovoltaic | 2 MW | Dec 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Cambridge CT HybridIsanti County | Batteries | 2 MW | Dec 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Enterprise MN - FitzthumStearns County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Sep 2026 | Under construction, more than 50 percent complete |  |
| Northern SunRice County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Aug 2026 | Under construction, more than 50 percent complete |  |
| Novel Blilie Solar LLCWilkin County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Feb 2027 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Pivot Energy Minnesota Solar 2Kandiyohi County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Apr 2027 | Under construction, more than 50 percent complete |  |
| Novel Gertken Solar LLCStearns County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Sep 2026 | Under construction, more than 50 percent complete |  |
| MN CSG 2019-57Blue Earth County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Sep 2026 | Regulatory approvals received. Not under construction |  |
| Fuller GardenSherburne County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Nov 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |
| Carver GardenRice County | Solar Photovoltaic | 1 MW | Oct 2026 | Under construction, less than or equal to 50 percent complete |  |

### Where Minnesota stands

Across the whole tracker, 737 data center and substation permits are on record in 51 states and DC. Minnesota accounts for 1 of them, ranking #11 by that count. Ranking measures documented permit activity, not the size of the eventual buildout.

[← PreviousMichigan](https://savrn.com/data-center-permits-tracker/michigan) [Next →Mississippi](https://savrn.com/data-center-permits-tracker/mississippi)

The SAVRN reference set

## Seven references, one system

Capital, delay, policy, water, grid, permits and scarcity are one system seen from seven sides. Each reference is primary-sourced, refreshed on a schedule, and links into the others, so a project can be followed from the money committed to the docket that stopped it.

Capital Atlas

Who is funding AI data centers: capital providers, named sites, financing transactions, and the blocked-and-delayed record, state by state and company by company.

[Open the atlas →](https://savrn.com/data-center-capital-atlas)

Delay Watchlist

Project-level slippage: named projects, jurisdictional actions, utility and federal dockets, SEC disclosures, and the interconnection queue.

Open the watchlist →

Moratorium Tracker

The policy layer: every state measure and local moratorium mapped and cited, with one page per state.

Open the tracker →

Water Tracker

Every federal, state, local and interstate water measure that touches a data center, plus a fifty-state water ledger.

Open the water tracker →

Grid Operator Watchlist

ERCOT, PJM, MISO, CAISO, SPP, NYISO, ISO-NE and FERC: the large-load rules, filings and queue positions that decide whether a site can energize.

Open the watchlist →

SAVRN Scarcity Tracker

Eleven primary-sourced indicators of AI infrastructure scarcity, one composite index, read against the token index, SAVRN's own cost basis and the frontier ceiling.

Open the scarcity tracker →

Have a specific address? Site Intelligence reads all seven references against one location, county, utility and grid operator included, and cites every finding.

[Check an address →](https://savrn.com/site-intelligence/minnesota)
