SAVRN Model Hub · Comparisons
gemma-3-1b-it vs OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct
Gemma-3-1b-it has 1B parameters and OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct has 1.1B parameters; gemma-3-1b-it is released under Gemma Terms of Use and OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct under apple-amlr; at 16-bit, gemma-3-1b-it needs about 2.4 GB (1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour) and OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct about 2.6 GB (1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour).
| Field | gemma-3-1b-it google/gemma-3-1b-it | OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct apple/OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Publisher | Apple | |
| Task | Text generation | Text generation |
| Modality | Text | Text |
| Parameters, as reported | 1B parameters | 1.1B parameters |
| Architecture | Gemma3ForCausalLM | OpenELMForCausalLM |
| Library | transformers | transformers |
| Context length | Not stated | Not stated |
| Repository size | 2.0 GB | 2.2 GB |
| Artifact formats | safetensors | safetensors |
| License | gemma | apple-amlr |
| Access | Access requested at publisher | Open weights, no gate |
| Memory at 16-bit (weights and margin) | 2.4 GB | 2.6 GB |
| Cheapest GPUs at 16-bit, per hour | 1x MI300X, $1.85 | 1x MI300X, $1.85 |
| Memory at 4-bit (weights and margin) | 0.6 GB | 0.6 GB |
| Cheapest GPUs at 4-bit, per hour | 1x MI300X, $1.85 | 1x MI300X, $1.85 |
| Revision viewed | dcc83ea841ab | effd796da2a7 |
| Downloads reported by the hub | 3M | 1.4M |
| Last observed | 2026-09-19 | 2026-09-19 |
An evaluation row appears only where at least two of these models report the same benchmark with the same stated configuration, metric, unit and setup. Different evaluators stay named in each cell. Values are shown as reported: no unit conversion, no ranking.
Other Reported Results
These results are listed for each model on its own, because the conditions needed to compare them are not stated or do not match. Two results that leave a condition blank are not assumed to share it.
gemma-3-1b-it
| Benchmark | Conditions | Result | Reported by | Revision | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Idavidrein/gpqa | Task diamondMetric diamondSetup GPQA DiamondComparison conditions not established | 24.7475 | EvalEval Reported by a third party |
Evaluated revision not stated | 2026-04-16 |
| Idavidrein/gpqa | Task mainMetric mainSetup GPQA chain-of-thoughtComparison conditions not established | 16.8161 | EvalEval Reported by a third party |
Evaluated revision not stated | 2026-06-30 |
SAVRN's Notes on gemma-3-1b-it
At 16-bit the memory bill for this instruction-tuned text generator is 2.4 GB, and at 4-bit it is 0.6 GB. The cheapest card on our Index that clears either is one MI300X, 192 GB at $1.85 an hour on-demand, so the hourly price reflects the card market, not anything a 1B-parameter model needs. The 8-bit build lands at 1.2 GB. It shares a card you already own; nobody provisions a machine for it.
Access is gated: the files come from Google once you accept the Gemma Terms of Use, which allow commercial use and redistribution but attach the Prohibited Use Policy to every copy you distribute. Fine-tune it, ship it inside a product, and those restrictions ship too. It derives from gemma-3-1b-pt, the base for your own instruction tuning. The page lists no context length for this checkpoint and no host prices, so confirm the window before sizing prompts.
SAVRN's Notes on OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct
Read the license before the spec sheet on this one. Apple releases it under its own apple-amlr terms, and our facts file carries no summary of what they permit, so legal reads the full text before anyone loads a weight. The hardware question is easy: 1.1 billion parameters need 2.6 GB of memory at 16-bit, 1.3 GB at 8-bit and 0.6 GB at 4-bit, so the cheapest card we price, a 192 GB MI300X at $1.85 an hour, would sit nearly empty serving it alone. It belongs on a shared card with other small models, not on a GPU of its own.
Two gaps to check. No context length is published, so test the input size you need before designing a prompt around it. No host on the SAVRN Index serves it, so there is no rental price to beat; the choice is run it yourself or not at all. Apple ships 270M, 450M, 1.1B and 3B sizes along with the CoreNet training framework, described in arXiv:2404.14619, so the training path is open if you want to adapt it.
Questions
Which is larger, gemma-3-1b-it or OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct?
OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct (1.1B parameters) is larger than gemma-3-1b-it (1B parameters), by the parameter counts their publishers report.
Which is cheaper to run, gemma-3-1b-it or OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct?
At 4-bit, gemma-3-1b-it fits on 1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour and OpenELM-1_1B-Instruct on 1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour, at the lowest on-demand prices the SAVRN Index lists.
Can I use gemma-3-1b-it commercially?
Yes, with conditions. gemma-3-1b-it is released under Gemma Terms of Use. Gemma models are released under Google's Gemma Terms of Use, which permit commercial use and redistribution subject to the Gemma Prohibited Use Policy, whose restrictions must be passed on to anyone the model is distributed to.