SAVRN Model Hub · Comparisons
PowerMoE-3b vs Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct
PowerMoE-3b has 3.4B parameters and Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct has 3.1B parameters; PowerMoE-3b is released under Apache License 2.0 and Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct under other; at 16-bit, PowerMoE-3b needs about 8.1 GB (1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour) and Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct about 7.4 GB (1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour).
| Field | PowerMoE-3b ibm-research/PowerMoE-3b | Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct Qwen/Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct |
|---|---|---|
| Publisher | IBM Research | Qwen |
| Task | Text generation | Text generation |
| Modality | Text | Text |
| Parameters, as reported | 3.4B parameters | 3.1B parameters |
| Architecture | GraniteMoeForCausalLM | Qwen2ForCausalLM |
| Library | transformers | transformers |
| Context length | 4,096 tokens | 32,768 tokens |
| Repository size | 13.5 GB | 6.2 GB |
| Artifact formats | safetensors | safetensors |
| License | apache-2.0 | other |
| Access | Open weights, no gate | Open weights, no gate |
| Memory at 16-bit (weights and margin) | 8.1 GB | 7.4 GB |
| Cheapest GPUs at 16-bit, per hour | 1x MI300X, $1.85 | 1x MI300X, $1.85 |
| Memory at 4-bit (weights and margin) | 2 GB | 1.9 GB |
| Cheapest GPUs at 4-bit, per hour | 1x MI300X, $1.85 | 1x MI300X, $1.85 |
| Revision viewed | 13fcb5a98001 | aa8e72537993 |
| Downloads reported by the hub | 1.3M | 5.1M |
| Last observed | 2026-09-18 | 2026-09-18 |
An evaluation row appears only where at least two of these models report the same benchmark with the same stated configuration, metric, unit and setup. Different evaluators stay named in each cell. Values are shown as reported: no unit conversion, no ranking.
Other Reported Results
These results are listed for each model on its own, because the conditions needed to compare them are not stated or do not match. Two results that leave a condition blank are not assumed to share it.
PowerMoE-3b
| Benchmark | Conditions | Result | Reported by | Revision | Date |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ARC | Task text-generationMetric accuracy-normComparison conditions not established | 58.1 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| BoolQ | Task text-generationMetric accuracyComparison conditions not established | 65 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| GSM8k (5 shot) | Task text-generationMetric accuracyComparison conditions not established | 25.9 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| Hellaswag | Task text-generationMetric accuracy-normComparison conditions not established | 71.5 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| MBPP | Task text-generationMetric pass@1Comparison conditions not established | 32.4 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| MMLU (5 shot) | Task text-generationMetric accuracyComparison conditions not established | 42.8 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| OpenBookQA | Task text-generationMetric accuracy-normComparison conditions not established | 41 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| PIQA | Task text-generationMetric accuracy-normComparison conditions not established | 79.1 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| Winogrande | Task text-generationMetric accuracy-normComparison conditions not established | 65 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| humaneval | Task text-generationMetric pass@1Comparison conditions not established | 20.1 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
| math (4 shot) | Task text-generationMetric accuracyComparison conditions not established | 14.8 | ibm-research Publisher reported |
Evaluated revision not stated | — |
SAVRN's Notes on PowerMoE-3b
Forty experts, eight awake for each token: that is how IBM Research's PowerMoE-3b holds 3.4B parameters while activating 800M per token. Memory does not care which experts are asleep, though. All 40 must be resident, so 16-bit needs 8.1 GB, 8-bit 4.0 GB and 4-bit 2.0 GB. Each lands on one MI300X with 192 GB at $1.85 an hour on demand and leaves the card mostly empty, so share it. The download is 13.5 GB, twice the 16-bit footprint.
Apache 2.0 makes commercial use, modification and redistribution straightforward; keep the notices and record your changes. Two checks. The context window is 4,096 tokens, so long documents will not fit in one pass; this model is for short prompts, code and math. And the training mix includes proprietary datasets, with every published number reported by the publisher itself, so evaluate on your own workload first.
SAVRN's Notes on Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct
At 16-bit, 7.4 GB is all this one asks for. Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct carries 3.1 billion parameters and a 32,768-token window, aimed at instruction following, structured data, JSON output and long text past 8K tokens. The cheapest Index setup is one MI300X with 192 GB at $1.85 an hour; 8-bit needs 3.7 GB and 4-bit 1.9 GB. Nobody sizes a 192 GB card for a 7.4 GB model, so it shares the card, beside a larger model or as several copies.
The weights are open access, so nothing gates the files, but the license field reads 'other' and carries no summary; the terms live in the publisher's license file, and nothing about commercial use can be assumed until that file has been read. Then check the lineage: this build derives from the Qwen2.5-3B base, where any fine-tune would start, and its paper is the Qwen2 technical report, arXiv:2407.10671.
Questions
Which is larger, PowerMoE-3b or Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct?
PowerMoE-3b (3.4B parameters) is larger than Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct (3.1B parameters), by the parameter counts their publishers report.
Which is cheaper to run, PowerMoE-3b or Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct?
At 4-bit, PowerMoE-3b fits on 1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour and Qwen2.5-3B-Instruct on 1x MI300X from $1.85 an hour, at the lowest on-demand prices the SAVRN Index lists.
Can I use PowerMoE-3b commercially?
Yes. PowerMoE-3b is released under Apache License 2.0. The Apache License 2.0 is a permissive open-source license. It permits commercial use, modification and redistribution. It requires keeping the license and copyright notices and any NOTICE file, stating significant changes, and it includes an express patent grant from contributors.