Self-powered and off-grid AI data center companies
Every named site in the Capital Atlas whose developer has recorded on-site, behind-the-meter or off-grid generation: 69 sites, 52 companies, ranked by disclosed capacity.
Self-powered means the defined operating load is supplied by on-site resources under stated conditions. The sites below are the ones whose developers have put a generation arrangement on the record: a gas plant behind the meter, fuel cells, a reactor, a solar field with storage, or on-site generation of a type the source does not name.
The arrangement column quotes the Atlas record, which in turn quotes a fetched page. Capacity is the site's disclosed IT or campus megawatts, whichever the source stated.
Sites with on-site, behind-the-meter or off-grid generation
| # | Developer | Site | State | Capacity | Status | Generation | Power arrangement, as recorded | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Valar Atomics | Project Beehive nuclear-powered data center campus | Utah | 9,600 MW | proposed | Nuclear | On-site small modular reactors (about 456 Valar 25 MWe units), plus a nuclear fuel production facility and waste storage on site | npr.org |
| 2 | Alphabet / Google | Project Tembo (formerly Project Jade), Switchgrass Industrial Park | Wyoming | 2,700 MW | approved | Fuel cells | Tallgrass Energy to combine energy resources from Black Hills Energy, fuel cells and its power plant to serve the campus | cowboystatedaily.comdatacenterknowledge.comoilcity.news |
| 3 | Aligned Data Centers | Project Phoenix campus, Shippingport | Pennsylvania | 2,000 MW | under construction | Natural gas on site | Dedicated onsite power rather than the local grid, adjacent to the former Shippingport (Bruce Mansfield) coal plant being redeveloped as a natural gas energy campus; excess capacity expected to return to the grid | finance.yahoo.compennbizreport.com |
| 4 | Brookfield (BAM / Brookfield Infrastructure Partners) | Paducah American Energy Hub | Kentucky | 1,800 MW | announced | Natural gas on site | 2 GW of new natural gas-fired generation plus up to 2.6 GW of battery energy storage, with transmission upgrades; Big Rivers Electric provides wholesale service and Jackson Purchase Energy Cooperative retail service | lpm.orgpower-eng.com |
| 5 | Fermi Inc. (Fermi America) | HyperGrid campus, Amarillo | Texas | 1,500 MW | construction | Natural gas on site | Behind-the-meter generation: GE Frame 6B turbines rated 114 MW simple cycle and over 200 MW combined cycle, three Siemens SGT6-5000F units up to 1.1 GW, and six SGT-800 units rated 478 MW at ISO conditions in combined cycle. Grid connection of 86 MW on initial energization ramping to 200 MW. Clean Air Permit of approximately 6 GW with an application for approximately 5 GW more filed 27 March 2026. | sec.govsec.govsec.gov |
| 6 | Keel Infrastructure | Keel Scrubgrass data center (former Scrubgrass power plant) | Pennsylvania | 1,300 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | Existing Scrubgrass waste-coal plant to be converted to natural gas, plus up to 550 MW of new gas generation | msn.com |
| 7 | Bell Canada (BCE) | Bell AI Fabric Saskatchewan hub (R.M. of Sherwood) | Saskatchewan | 1,200 MW | under construction | Natural gas on site | 300 MW from the provincial grid; up to 900 MW from partner-developed natural gas generation under Saskatchewan's bring-your-own-power framework | newswire.caglobalnews.cadiscovermoosejaw.com |
| 8 | Nebius Group | Highridge Business Park AI factory | Pennsylvania | 1,200 MW | announced | Battery storage | Dedicated Energy Service Agreement with PPL Electric Utilities; battery energy storage providing roughly 30 minutes of backup power; closed-loop cooling | nebius.comyahoo.com |
| 9 | EdgeCore Digital Infrastructure | EdgeCore Louisa County campus, Shannon Hill Regional Business Park | Virginia | 1,100 MW | announced | On-site generation, type not stated | On-site substations planned for Phase II | datacenterdynamics.com |
| 10 | Arizona Land Consulting (Anita Verma-Lallian) | Tonopah film studio, retail and data center complex (data center and technology campus) | Arizona | 1,000 MW | approved | Natural gas on site | APS service territory, interconnection timeline still under negotiation; developer is considering an on-site, off-grid natural gas plant as bridge power | kjzz.org |
| 11 | Developer not named | Savannah River Site AI data center and energy generation project | South Carolina | 1,000 MW | Developer selected to negotiate a phased lease; no final lease | Nuclear | About 2 GW of dedicated on-site generation, initially natural gas bridging to advanced nuclear | morningstar.comworld-nuclear-news.orgyahoo.com |
| 12 | Emerald Energy Technologies (Tourmaline Oil Corp.) | Malachite One data centre and power plant (near Banshee Gas Plant) | Alberta | 1,000 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | Self-generated natural gas power with optional carbon sequestration | cbc.ca |
| 13 | Meta Platforms | Meta Sturgeon County data center | Alberta | 1,000 MW | construction | On-site generation, type not stated | Meta states the site will run on 100% clean and renewable energy, with Meta fully funding new generation and grid infrastructure | about.fb.comcbc.cahowardchai.substack.com |
| 14 | ONE Nuclear Energy | Project Barracuda energy park and co-located data center (La. 1) | Louisiana | 1,000 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | 1.2 GW natural gas plants, 300 MW / 1,200 MWh BESS and potential 270 MW solar on site; Iberville Parish adopted a two-year moratorium on battery storage construction in July 2026 | finance.yahoo.comnola.com |
| 15 | xAI (now operating under SpaceX / "SpaceXAI") | Colossus 2 | Tennessee | 946 MW | operating | Natural gas on site | permanent ~1.2 GW simple-cycle plant (41 turbines) received a Mississippi PSD permit in March 2026; temporary units scheduled for phased removal by mid-2027 | en.wikipedia.orgepoch.aidatacenterdynamics.com |
| 16 | Rhea Data (subsidiary of Arevia Power) | Rhea Data Center (BLM land south of Boise) | Idaho | 600 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | Right-of-way application includes a natural gas power generation facility and electrical facilities to connect to Idaho Power (Idaho Press, citing The Washington Sun) | localnews8.comidahopress.com |
| 17 | Geronimo Power | Harmony Energy Park data center (near the Bison Substation) | North Dakota | 540 MW | proposed | Solar, wind or hydro | New generation; site includes a 200 MW solar farm Geronimo is building next to the Bison Substation and a planned 200 MW battery facility; Otter Tail Power large load tariff under North Dakota PSC review | yahoo.comkfgo.com |
| 18 | Azio AI Holdings, Inc. | Atlas One compute campus (Project Atlas) | Texas | 500 MW | announced | Natural gas on site | Behind-the-meter natural gas generation | enidnews.com |
| 19 | Anthropic | Cedar Creek data center and gas plant campus (382 Earl Callahan Road), Anthropic in lease talks | Texas | 490 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | On-site natural gas turbines, 710 MW site-rated; TCEQ air permit pending | therealdeal.commsn.comyahoo.com |
| 20 | Vantage Data Centers | Project Latigo campus | Wyoming | 480 MW | announced | Natural gas on site | On-site natural gas generation using Wyoming gas; closed-loop cooling, with the permit application stating that for every 100 gallons of water used 110 will be restored | capcity.newswyomingnews.com |
| 21 | Vantage Data Centers | Vantage Data Centers Project Latigo (Terry Ranch Road) | Wyoming | 480 MW | rezoning approved | Natural gas on site | Onsite power generation planned using Wyoming natural gas; closed-loop cooling with onsite wells | wyomingnews.com |
| 22 | PowerPlay AI | PowerPlay AI greater Abilene behind-the-meter AI data center | Texas | 400 MW | planned | Natural gas on site | Behind-the-meter natural gas generation; natural gas service agreements in progress and independent power producer selection pending | finance.yahoo.com |
| 23 | Beacon Data Centers (Beacon AI) | Beacon Data Centers Lorneville data centre (Spruce Lake Data Centre Hub) | New Brunswick | 390 MW | environmental impact assessment underway | Natural gas on site | VoltaGrid 190 MW gas generation plus NB Power grid | cbc.camsn.combetakit.com |
| 24 | Panattoni Development Co. | Project Shelby (former Ford property, Marietta Avenue NE and Georgetown Road NE) | Ohio | 320 MW | proposed | On-site generation, type not stated | One on-site electrical substation; generators set back 500 feet from the nearest residential area | msn.comcantonrep.com |
| 25 | Blockfusion USA, Inc. | Niagara Falls AI campus | New York | 300 MW | under development | Nuclear | Predominantly hydroelectric and nuclear generation in NYISO Zone A, per Blockfusion | finance.yahoo.comsec.govsec.gov |
| 26 | Soluna Holdings | Project Dorothy 3 | Texas | 300 MW | planned | Solar, wind or hydro | Behind-the-meter access to Soluna's 150 MW Briscoe Wind Farm, whose substation sits across from the parcel | sec.gov |
| 27 | Volition | Volition data center, former Fingerhut warehouse (4000 E. U.S. 6), Spanish Fork Canyon | Utah | 250 MW | proposed | Fuel cells | Self-generated, fuel cell powered; the city amendment requires energy grid isolation; air permits sought from the Utah Division of Air Quality | msn.comsltrib.comfox13now.com |
| 28 | Alpha Compute Corp. | Alpha Compute northern Pennsylvania AI data center campus | Pennsylvania | 200 MW | announced | Natural gas on site | Behind-the-meter natural gas from about 1,800 net unleased Marcellus mineral acres; company projects power cost of about $0.0585/kWh | finanznachrichten.de |
| 29 | Developer not named | Fleet Data Centers Reno-area hyperscale facility (SV RNO) | Nevada | 200 MW | construction | Natural gas on site | Temporary on-site natural gas plant (South Valley, 144 MW, 37.4 acres at 8990 USA Parkway) approved by the PUCN on 17 September 2026 pending NDEP air and Storey County building permits, to operate two to three years until NV Energy provides permanent service; NV Energy large-load electric service agreement signed May 2026; dedicated electrical substation | fleetdatacenters.comeinpresswire.comyahoo.com |
| 30 | Zone Frontier Inc. | Zone Frontier West Texas data center campus (Potter County) | Texas | 200 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | Surrounds Southwestern Public Service (Xcel Energy) Potter County 345 kV substation in SPP; at least 1,800 acres reserved for solar, battery storage and supporting infrastructure; near two natural gas pipelines | finance.yahoo.comw.mediasec.gov |
| 31 | KKR | CyrusOne DFW10 campus (Thad Hill Energy Center) | Texas | 190 MW | construction | On-site generation, type not stated | dedicated generation from Calpine's Thad Hill Energy Center; Constellation later signed a 380MW agreement near the Freestone Energy Center with a second phase of another 380MW | cyrusone.comreuters.com |
| 32 | Soluna Holdings | Project Kati (Kati 1 and Kati 2) | Texas | 166 MW | operating (Kati 1); planned (Kati 2) | Solar, wind or hydro | Behind the meter, powered by the Las Majadas wind energy project; full 166 MW conditionally classified as Base Load in ERCOT Batch Zero | sec.govsec.gov |
| 33 | Menlo Equities | Menlo Equities data center at Western Digital campus (Charlotte Drive) | California | 100 MW | proposed (development plans filed) | On-site generation, type not stated | Onsite substation; Tier 4 backup generators; closed-loop air-cooled chillers | msn.commsn.commsn.com |
| 34 | Prologis | Prologis North San Jose data center (326 Charcot Avenue) | California | 99 MW | special use permit filed | On-site generation, type not stated | PG&E grid with onsite substation, backup generator yard and a second independently routed transmission line; enrollment in San Jose Total Clean Energy intended | msn.com |
| 35 | Keel Infrastructure (formerly Bitfarms) | Sherbrooke data center project | Quebec | 96 MW | planned | Solar, wind or hydro | Hydro-Sherbrooke; consolidates existing power without requesting additional capacity | sec.govsec.gov |
| 36 | QTS Realty Trust (Blackstone) | QTS East Windsor campus, 159 Princeton-Hightstown Road | New Jersey | 70 MW | delayed | On-site generation, type not stated | 70+ MW of critical power and an on-site substation | idcnova.com |
| 37 | Armada Nowlit Energy Ltd. | Clive-area gas-fired power and modular data centre (Haynes Road) | Alberta | 20 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | On-site 19.8 MW natural gas-fired generation | centralalbertaonline.com |
| 38 | FingerMotion, Inc. | FingerMotion Brooks Campus #1 (behind-the-meter AI compute site) | Alberta | 10 MW | proposed | Natural gas on site | Behind-the-meter natural gas generation (generating equipment of the prior operator excluded from the sale); new gas supply agreement with Pivotal Energy Partners is a closing condition | finanznachrichten.debrooksbulletin.com |
| 39 | Energy Vault | Snyder AI Campus | Texas | 8 MW | under construction | Battery storage | Powered land with battery energy storage and N+1 redundancy | markets.ft.comsec.gov |
| 40 | 4-3 Glenbrook Group | Salem 3 data center campus | Pennsylvania | announced | Nuclear | On-site power generation planned; site is near the Susquehanna nuclear plant | timesleader.comtimesleader.comtimesleader.com | |
| 41 | 614 Prospect RD LLC | Misty Hollow Energy and Data Campus (614 Prospect Road) | Pennsylvania | proposed (preliminary plan filed) | Natural gas on site | On-site gas-fired generation (power station facilities on about 10 acres) per the township manager; Marcellus Drilling News headline reports a 300 MW plant tied to a gas well pad (unconfirmed) | butlereagle.combutlereagle.commsn.com | |
| 42 | Alphabet / Google | Google potential Lea County data center | New Mexico | exploring | Solar, wind or hydro | 2 GW solar field by Excelsior Energy Capital about 3 miles from the site; companies say they will cover 100% of new generation costs | blog.googleyahoo.com | |
| 43 | Alphabet / Google | Midlothian / Red Oak campuses (Ellis County) | Texas | expansion | Solar, wind or hydro | 375 MW of carbon-free energy capacity in new solar PPAs | datacenterdynamics.com | |
| 44 | Alphabet / Google | Project Clydesdale data center campus, near Cherokee Industrial Park | Oklahoma | under construction | On-site generation, type not stated | Public Service Company of Oklahoma (PSO) grid service with a new Beale-funded on-site substation | krmg.comnewson6.comfox23.com | |
| 45 | Alphabet / Google | Project Rise 1A and Rise 2A data centers, Vernon | Texas | filed | On-site generation, type not stated | Google said in February 2026 its Wilbarger County data center would be co-located with on-site clean energy from AES | constructionreviewonline.comtdlr.texas.govtdlr.texas.gov | |
| 46 | Alphabet / Google | Texas program (Armstrong County, Haskell County, Midlothian) | Texas | announced | On-site generation, type not stated | More than 6,200 MW of new energy generation and capacity contracted through PPAs | blog.googledatacenterdynamics.comtdlr.texas.gov | |
| 47 | Altigen | Jurassic Spark data center and power campus | Utah | proposed | Natural gas on site | On-site natural gas plant, 250 MW initially and up to 3 GW; gas via a pipeline right-of-way across BLM land that the county agreed preliminarily to take ownership of in May 2026 | msn.com | |
| 48 | Amazon (AWS) | AWS data center campus, Energy Way Industrial Park (Airport Road), Hamlet | North Carolina | under construction | Natural gas on site | Duke Energy grid service from an adjacent Duke natural gas turbine plant; 57 Duke bridge-power diesel engines for up to 364 days until grid connection, plus 588 Amazon backup generators | richmondobserver.comwfae.orgyourdailyjournal.com | |
| 49 | Amazon (AWS) | AWS data center campus, Scioto Darby Road (Hilliard area) with AEP Ohio fuel cell plant | Ohio | under construction | Fuel cells | 72.9 MW AEP Ohio fuel cell facility using 228 Bloom Energy units, supplied by natural gas | msn.comwosu.org | |
| 50 | Amazon (AWS) | AWS data centers at Homer City Energy Campus (Center and Blacklick townships) | Pennsylvania | proposed | Natural gas on site | FirstEnergy supply supported by HCR's 4.5 GW gas-fired generation at the former Homer City Generating Station | indianagazette.comwccsradio.com | |
| 51 | Amazon (AWS) | GW Ranch data center and power campus | Texas | under construction | Natural gas on site | Off-grid natural gas turbines (up to 7.65 GW permitted), planned solar and batteries; designed to transition to grid service later | enr.comfinance.yahoo.com | |
| 52 | Amazon (AWS) | Pennsylvania campuses (Salem Township and Falls Township) | Pennsylvania | announced | Nuclear | Tied by Amazon's own statement to the Talen Susquehanna 1,920 MW nuclear PPA | pa.govir.talenenergy.com | |
| 53 | Anthropic | Nexus Data Centers Hubbard AI campus (Anthropic anchor tenant) | Texas | under construction | Natural gas on site | Behind-the-meter natural gas generation on site, reported at 1.6 GW | cnbc.comtradingview.comrutlandherald.com | |
| 54 | Copia Power | Monarch Data Center | Nevada | approved | Natural gas on site | Associated gas-fired plant with 500 MW of natural gas generation and 500 MW of battery storage per KRNV | mynews4.comkolotv.com | |
| 55 | DataOne | DataOne AI factory campus (Logix Innovation Campus) | Indiana | announced | Fuel cells | 350 MW of utility power through IMPA plus 175 MW from Bloom Energy natural gas fuel cells, per the project electrical engineer at the 21 September 2026 open house | clintoncountydailynews.comjconline.comclintoncountydailynews.com | |
| 56 | Developer not named | Project Thunderbird data center campuses | Oklahoma | announced | On-site generation, type not stated | Up to 3.3 GW of on-site generation, with infrastructure tied to backup power for Vance Air Force Base | news9.comenidnews.comkfor.com | |
| 57 | Falmouth Tech | Accokeek Center data center complex | Virginia | announced | On-site generation, type not stated | On-site electrical substation proposed | yahoo.com | |
| 58 | Meta Platforms | Meta Bowling Green data center (Middleton Township) | Ohio | under construction | On-site generation, type not stated | Onsite power plant under construction per BG Independent News | yahoo.combgindependentmedia.orgmsn.com | |
| 59 | Microsoft (Azure) | Microsoft MNZ07 Wellington Data Center (13490 University Boulevard, Gainesville) | Virginia | permitting | On-site generation, type not stated | On-site substation | patch.comdatacenterdynamics.com | |
| 60 | Microsoft (Azure) | Mount Pleasant datacenter campus (Fairwater Wisconsin) | Wisconsin | construction | Solar, wind or hydro | 250 MW solar project built with National Grid Renewables; additional 250 MW solar project in Portage County | news.microsoft.comblogs.microsoft.comreuters.com | |
| 61 | Nexus Data Centers | Nexus Data Centers Hubbard AI campus | Texas | under construction | Natural gas on site | On-site gas-fired generation, behind the meter | w.mediathenextweb.com | |
| 62 | NorthMark Strategies (Valara) | Valara data center (former Kohler plant, Pine Street) | South Carolina | under construction | Natural gas on site | On-site natural gas turbines and generators; SC DES air permit granted 18 September 2026 for 11 turbines adding 408 MW to 48 MW already permitted | msn.comyahoo.comwspa.com | |
| 63 | One Nuclear Energy | Project Cayman energy project and co-located data center campus | Louisiana | announced | Natural gas on site | Planned 2.88 GW natural gas plant and 700 MW / 2.88 GWh battery storage | powermag.comfinance.yahoo.comsec.gov | |
| 64 | QTS Data Centers | QTS data center campus on Lancium Clean Campus (near Turkey) | Texas | announced | Solar, wind or hydro | Lancium to provide electrical and civil infrastructure with its own power from battery storage and solar; companies fund 100% of energy infrastructure improvements | newschannel10.commsn.com | |
| 65 | Site Layer 4, LLC | Site Layer 4 Goshen Hole data center and energy campus | Wyoming | rezoning approved | Battery storage | Co-located utility-scale generation and energy storage planned; project would generate its own power | cowboystatedaily.comcowboystatedaily.comwyomingnews.com | |
| 66 | The Carlyle Group | Copia Power site west of Phoenix | Arizona | construction | Solar, wind or hydro | 1.5GW of solar | carlyle.comirei.com | |
| 67 | Wave Infrastructure | Wave Infrastructure AI research lab and HPC facility (Junction 42 Business Park) | Alberta | proposed | On-site generation, type not stated | Power generation details provided by the purchaser; Alberta Utilities Commission approval required for any generation or grid connection | centralalbertaonline.comtodayinbc.com | |
| 68 | Wright Industrial Group (Wright family) | Project River energy and data center campus | Tennessee | announced | Natural gas on site | On-site energy campus powered by natural gas and woody biomass per WUTC | timesfreepress.comwutc.orgtimesfreepress.com | |
| 69 | xAI (now operating under SpaceX / "SpaceXAI") | Colossus 1 | Tennessee | operating | Natural gas on site | temporary natural-gas turbines and Tesla Megapack battery systems deployed because the local grid connection was limited | x.aien.wikipedia.orgdatacenterdynamics.com |
Which companies are building self-powered AI data centers?
52 developers have at least one named site with on-site or behind-the-meter generation on record in the SAVRN Capital Atlas, among them 4-3 Glenbrook Group, 614 Prospect RD LLC, Aligned Data Centers, Alpha Compute Corp., Alphabet / Google, Altigen, Amazon (AWS), Anthropic. The largest by disclosed capacity are Valar Atomics at Project Beehive nuclear-powered data center campus (9,600 MW), Alphabet / Google at Project Tembo (formerly Project Jade), Switchgrass Industrial Park (2,700 MW), Aligned Data Centers at Project Phoenix campus, Shippingport (2,000 MW).
Which of these sites are off-grid?
12 sites describe the arrangement as off-grid, behind the meter or islanded from the local grid, including Project Phoenix campus, Shippingport (Aligned Data Centers), HyperGrid campus, Amarillo (Fermi Inc. (Fermi America)), Tonopah film studio, retail and data center complex (data center and technology campus) (Arizona Land Consulting (Anita Verma-Lallian)), Atlas One compute campus (Project Atlas) (Azio AI Holdings, Inc.). Most self-powered campuses keep a grid connection for startup, backup or later transition and say so.
What kind of generation do self-powered data centers use?
On this page: Natural gas on site (33 sites), On-site generation, type not stated (15 sites), Solar, wind or hydro (9 sites), Nuclear (5 sites), Fuel cells (4 sites), Battery storage (3 sites). The classification reads the power arrangement recorded for each site; where a source names more than one technology the first named is used.
How does SAVRN power its own AI factory?
A SAVRN campus runs on its own fuel-cell baseload with grid-forming storage, islanding and black start, delivered as the Atom block and the Proton power plant. That design is a reference design verified per site, not a site in the Atlas, so it is described on the solutions pages rather than ranked here.
Seven references, one system
Capital, delay, policy, water, grid, permits and scarcity are one system seen from seven sides. Each reference is primary-sourced, refreshed on a schedule, and links into the others, so a project can be followed from the money committed to the docket that stopped it.