Data Center Capital Atlas Update: September 1, 2026
93 capital providers, 178 named sites, 271 financing transactions and 147 blocked or delayed projects, each linked to its source.
This is a scheduled update to the North American Data Center Capital Atlas, SAVRN’s primary-sourced record of who is funding data center capacity in North America, in what structure, at which site, and how much of that capital has been stopped. The atlas is refreshed every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, and each refresh publishes a note like this one recording exactly what changed.
Where the record stands
| Measure | Previous | Current | Change |
|---|---|---|---|
| Capital providers | 90 | 93 | up 3 |
| Named sites | 174 | 178 | up 4 |
| Financing transactions | 311 | 271 | down 40 |
| Blocked or delayed projects | 145 | 147 | up 2 |
| Source citations | 2,093 | 2,102 | up 9 |
| States with a blocked or delayed project | 41 | 41 | no change |
Announced capital across the tracked cohort is reported as disclosed and is never summed into a single deployment figure: site commitments overlap one another and overlap reported capital expenditure. Blocked-and-delayed totals from different trackers cover different windows and definitions and are shown side by side rather than added.
Capital at risk, added this period
- Wixom data center moratorium (ended early) and Midwinds Park proposal, City of Wixom (MI). 519,400 sq ft across three buildings (Midwinds Park proposal); no dollar figure disclosed. Wixom’s six-month data center moratorium ended early. On 26 August 2026 the city council adopted data center restrictions in its zoning ordinance, requiring a 1,500-foot setback from residential areas, parks and K-12 schools, prohibiting the use of well water, and requiring a 48-hour Monday-to-Friday sound study as part of an application. The council then passed a resolution making the restrictions effective no later than 6 September 2026, ending the moratorium roughly two and a half weeks before its scheduled expiration. Wixom Industrial One, LLC, operating under the Missouri-based Sansone Group, has sued the city, claiming the moratorium is illegal and was intended to permanently kill its proposed Midwinds Park data center of three buildings totaling 519,400 square feet at 30625 S. Wixom Road. (Detroit News)
Capital at risk, added this period, newly verified from earlier periods
These entries were added in this cycle but their own dates fall before the current month. They are documentation catching up, not new activity.
- Elkhart data center and battery storage moratorium, City of Elkhart (IN). No project-level dollar or MW figure disclosed. The Elkhart City Council voted 9-0 on 27 August 2026 to adopt a moratorium on data centers and battery storage facility projects running until December 2027. The city will not accept applications for either use during that period while it develops regulations addressing noise, water use and electricity demand. The moratorium applies to the City of Elkhart only, not to Elkhart County or surrounding jurisdictions. (WNDU)
Sites added this period, newly verified from earlier periods
These entries were added in this cycle but their own dates fall before the current month. They are documentation catching up, not new activity.
- Project Camellia (Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub) (Rincon, GA). $20.0B, 3200 MW, announced. OpenAI announced Project Camellia in Effingham County, Georgia in July 2026: four data center buildings at the Savannah Gateway Industrial Hub, a 2,600-acre campus just outside Rincon, with the data center buildings covering approximately 101 acres. Georgia Power is to supply 3.2 GW delivered in phases from 2028 to 2032. Reported commitments include $80 million in community benefits, a 50% property tax abatement for 15 years, and 400 long-term jobs initially. The site owner is the Effingham County Industrial Development Authority and the development entity was filed as Octans GA LLC. (The Current)
- Beacon Point data center (Nueces County, TX). 352 MW, construction. A turnkey data center comprising six data halls with a combined total of 352 MW of critical IT capacity, to be built on an approximately 521-acre property in Nueces County, Texas, together with a substation on the property. The facility is to be leased to a tenant that the filing states was rated AA- or higher as of the pricing date; the filing does not name the tenant. (SEC 8-K (Hut 8))
- Helios II data center (Dickens County) (Dickens County, TX). 260 MW, construction. Two buildings containing eight data halls with a combined total of 400 MW of utility capacity and 260 MW of critical IT capacity, to be built on an approximately 260-acre property in Dickens County, Texas. The July 2026 note offering finances a portion of development and construction and funds debt service reserves. (SEC 8-K (Galaxy Digital))
- Nscale West Virginia campus (Mason County (per press reports), WV). 460 MW, announced. Nscale’s flagship West Virginia data center campus, anchored by a reported six-year, approximately $45 billion Anthropic compute agreement covering roughly 460 MW. The West Virginia Governor’s office publicized the agreement on 27 August 2026 while describing the figure as reported rather than confirmed. Press reports place the campus in Mason County; the state release does not name a county. Figure is press-reported and not confirmed by either company; the West Virginia Governor’s office likewise describes it as a reported agreement, citing Bloomberg. (WV Governor)
Financing transactions added this period, newly verified from earlier periods
These entries were added in this cycle but their own dates fall before the current month. They are documentation catching up, not new activity.
- Galaxy Digital and Galaxy Helios Data Centers II LLC. project bond, $3.507 billion of 9.875% senior secured notes due 2031, priced 23 July 2026 and expected to close 28 July 2026. Galaxy Digital’s indirect wholly owned subsidiary Galaxy Helios Data Centers II LLC priced a $3.507 billion private offering of 9.875% senior secured notes due 1 August 2031. Proceeds finance a portion of the development and construction of two buildings containing eight data halls with a combined 400 MW of utility capacity and 260 MW of critical IT capacity on an approximately 260-acre property in Dickens County, Texas, and fund debt service reserves. The notes amortize at 4.00% per annum of original principal and are guaranteed by Galaxy Helios II LLC. (SEC 8-K (Galaxy Digital))
- Hut 8 and Hut 8 DC LLC. project bond, $3.25 billion of 6.192% senior secured notes due 2042, priced 27 April 2026 and expected to close 30 April 2026. Hut 8’s wholly-owned subsidiary Hut 8 DC LLC priced a $3.25 billion private offering of 6.192% senior secured notes due 2042, described in the filing as a fully amortizing project financing that is non-recourse to Hut 8 Corp. Proceeds finance a turnkey data center with 245 MW of critical IT capacity and the related substation at Hut 8’s River Bend campus, reimburse prior equity contributions, and fund debt service reserves. The filing does not state the campus location. (SEC 8-K (Hut 8))
- Hut 8 and Beacon Point DC LLC. project bond, $4.25 billion of 6.129% senior secured notes due 2042, priced 4 June 2026 and expected to close 9 June 2026. Hut 8’s wholly-owned subsidiary Beacon Point DC LLC priced a $4.25 billion private offering of 6.129% senior secured notes due 2042, described in the filing as a fully amortizing project financing that is non-recourse to Hut 8 Corp. Proceeds finance a turnkey data center of six data halls totaling 352 MW of critical IT capacity on an approximately 521-acre property in Nueces County, Texas, plus the substation on the property. The facility is to be leased to a tenant the filing states was rated AA- or higher as of the pricing date; the tenant is not named. (SEC 8-K (Hut 8))
- Cipher Digital and Stingray Compute LLC. project bond, $810.0 million of 6.000% senior secured notes due 2031, priced 8 June 2026 at 99.750% of principal and expected to close 15 June 2026. Cipher Digital’s wholly-owned subsidiary Stingray Compute LLC priced an $810.0 million offering of 6.000% senior secured notes due 2031 at 99.750% of principal. Proceeds finance the remaining cost of the Stingray Facility, reimburse the company for approximately $61.5 million of prior equity contributions to Cipher Stingray LLC, and fund debt service reserves. The notes are guaranteed by Cipher Stingray and secured by first-priority liens on substantially all assets of the issuer and guarantor. The filing does not state the facility’s location. (SEC 8-K (Cipher Digital))
- Anthropic, Nscale and NVIDIA. lease, reported at approximately $45 billion over six years for roughly 460 MW; press-reported, not company disclosure. Anthropic is reported to have agreed to spend approximately $45 billion over six years for AI computing capacity at Nscale’s flagship West Virginia data center campus, representing approximately 460 MW, with Nscale deploying NVIDIA Vera Rubin systems expected to begin coming online in late 2027. Figure is press-reported and not confirmed by either company; the West Virginia Governor’s office likewise describes it as a reported agreement, citing Bloomberg. (WV Governor)
- Anthropic and Microsoft. other, $30 billion of Azure compute capacity, plus contracted additional compute capacity up to one gigawatt. Under the strategic partnerships announced 18 November 2025, Anthropic committed to purchase $30 billion of Azure compute capacity and to contract additional compute capacity up to one gigawatt, with its initial allocation running on NVIDIA Grace Blackwell and Vera Rubin systems. (Microsoft)
- Microsoft and Anthropic. equity raise, up to $5 billion investment by Microsoft in Anthropic; ceiling figure as stated. Microsoft said it will invest up to $5 billion in Anthropic alongside the Azure compute commitment announced the same day. Recorded separately from Nvidia’s investment; the two are not summed here. (Microsoft)
- NVIDIA and Anthropic. equity raise, up to $10 billion investment by NVIDIA in Anthropic; ceiling figure as stated. NVIDIA said it will invest up to $10 billion in Anthropic alongside Anthropic’s commitment to up to one gigawatt of compute on NVIDIA Grace Blackwell and Vera Rubin systems. Recorded separately from Microsoft’s investment; the two are not summed here. (Microsoft)
- Anthropic, Macquarie Asset Management and GIC. platform, No dollar figure or capacity figure disclosed in the announcement. Anthropic, Macquarie Asset Management and GIC announced a strategic partnership to develop dedicated data center infrastructure at scale, with an initial focus on the United States. Funds managed by Macquarie Asset Management will, together with GIC, own the platform and fund the majority of the equity for each project, with Anthropic leasing the facilities as anchor tenant under long-term agreements. Anthropic also committed to cover electricity price increases that consumers otherwise may face from these sites. No dollar or capacity figure was disclosed. (Macquarie)
Entries removed
An entry is removed only when its source no longer supports it or the record was superseded. Removals are listed so the changelog nets out rather than only accumulating.
- anthropic-fluidstack-buildout
- anthropic-aws-compute-commitment
- anthropic-google-cloud-commitment
- openai-oracle-relationship
- openai-microsoft-azure-purchase
- xai-20b-equity-raise
- nvidia-coreweave-equity-2026
- coreweave-ddtl-1
- nvidia-nebius-equity-2026
- apld-macquarie-preferred
- apld-pipe-2024
- nvidia-apld-exit
- anthropic-fluidstack-us-program
- nvidia-groq-acquisition
- nvidia-nscale-series-b
- nvidia-together-ai-series-c
- nvidia-crusoe-series-d
- nvidia-ai-infrastructure-partnership
- digital-realty-nova-stake-buyback
- coreweave-debt-7500
How to read this
Every figure in the atlas links to the page that states it. Where a value could not be confirmed from a fetched source, the entry reads n.a. rather than an estimate, and roughly two-thirds of the capital-at-risk rows carry either a dollar figure or a megawatt figure but not both, because local rezoning dockets disclose acreage and square footage while investment figures come from economic-development announcements that a withdrawn project never makes. The dollar total of the rows that do disclose a figure is therefore a floor, not a census.
The atlas sits alongside two companion references: the Nationwide Data Center Delay Watchlist, which tracks project-level slippage, queues, and securities filings, and the U.S. Data Center Moratorium Tracker, which maps state and local policy measures. All citations behind this atlas are listed on one page.
Would you like the atlas update?
The atlas is re-verified and republished on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. You get one email when it goes out, with what changed.
Also send me
Receive a short introduction on days 3, 7 and 14, plus the updates you select. Unsubscribe in one click. Privacy
Data Center Capital Atlas Update: September 1, 2026
Get new SAVRN Insights by email
A short introduction on days 3, 7 and 14, plus new SAVRN research articles. Unsubscribe at any time.
We use your address to send the introduction and updates described above. See our Privacy Policy.