Skip to page content
SAVRN
Search Plan a project
Insights
Capital Atlas

Data Center Capital Atlas Update: September 5, 2026

95 capital providers, 183 named sites, 285 financing transactions and 169 blocked or delayed projects, each linked to its source.

Chad Everett Harris·Sep 5, 2026 ·10 min read
Data Center Capital Atlas Update: September 5, 2026

Would you like the atlas update?

The atlas is re-verified and republished on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. You get one email when it goes out, with what changed.

Also send me

Receive a short introduction on days 3, 7 and 14, plus the updates you select. Unsubscribe in one click. Privacy ·

You're on the list. The next atlas update will land in your inbox when it publishes.
You are subscribed. Read the latest tracker

This data center capital atlas update records what changed in the North American Data Center Capital Atlas, SAVRN’s primary-sourced record of who is funding data center capacity in North America, in what structure, at which site, and how much of that capital has been stopped. The atlas is refreshed every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday, and each refresh publishes a note like this one recording exactly what changed.

Where the record stands

Measure Previous Current Change
Capital providers 94 95 up 1
Named sites 180 183 up 3
Financing transactions 277 285 up 8
Blocked or delayed projects 166 169 up 3
Source citations 2,148 2,216 up 68
States with a blocked or delayed project 41 41 no change

Announced capital across the tracked cohort is reported as disclosed and is never summed into a single deployment figure: site commitments overlap one another and overlap reported capital expenditure. Blocked-and-delayed totals from different trackers cover different windows and definitions and are shown side by side rather than added.

Capital at risk, added this period

  • Bulloch County data center moratorium, Bulloch County (GA). No dollar or megawatt figure; county-wide restriction on unincorporated areas. Moratorium barring data center applications runs through 31 December 2026. On 1 September 2026 commissioners rejected an outright ban on data centers in unincorporated areas by 4-3, with the chairman casting the deciding vote after a 3-3 split, and unanimously approved a 21-member resident working group. (The Georgia Virtue)
  • Rowan County two-year data center moratorium, Rowan County (KY). No dollar or megawatt figure; no project pending at adoption. The Rowan County Fiscal Court approved a two-year moratorium on large-scale data centers, adopted before any developer approach so the county can set a review framework. The judge-executive stated that no one had approached the county for a data center. (LEX18)
  • Winchester one-year data center moratorium, Winchester (KY). No dollar or megawatt figure; city-limits restriction. The Winchester Board of Commissioners voted unanimously on 1 September 2026 for a one-year moratorium on data center development within city limits, citing the absence of specific zoning rules. The planning director told commissioners that communities from Lexington to London had moved to slow or halt new data center proposals. (Winchester Sun)

Sites added this period

  • Project Latigo campus (Cheyenne, WY). $20.0B, 480 MW, announced. The Laramie County Board of County Commissioners approved a zone change from Land Use to Planned Unit Development on 1 September 2026 for 1,835 acres about 12 miles south of Cheyenne, near Terry Ranch Road between Interstate 25 and U.S. Highway 85. Vantage Data Centers described an investment of up to $20 billion at completion and up to 2,000 jobs, across four data center buildings with staging areas, access routes and modular worker housing. Vantage must submit a site plan to the county for approval before construction. First-phase construction is slated to begin as early as 2027, with phase one completion targeted in 2030. (Cap City News)
  • Rockdale AI/HPC campus (Milam County) (Rockdale, TX). 563 MW, expansion. Bitdeer announced on 1 September 2026 the completed acquisition of approximately 200 acres of greenfield property in Milam County, Texas for approximately $100 million in cash, adjacent to its existing Rockdale data center on land formerly part of an Alcoa aluminum smelting plant. The company states that following the transaction it owns or operates approximately 255 acres and 742 MW of existing and pipeline power capacity in Milam County. (Bitdeer press release (GlobeNewswire))

Sites added this period, newly verified from earlier periods

These entries were added in this cycle but their own dates fall before the current month. They are documentation catching up, not new activity.

  • Project Helium (Sharon) (Sharon, KS). announced. The Barber County Commission approved a development agreement for Google’s first Kansas data center, known as Project Helium, in a 2-0-1 vote on 31 August 2026, after finalizing terms in executive session. The site is near Sharon, about eight miles east of Medicine Lodge. Google states the project will be 1.7 million square feet, air-cooled, and will create 500 permanent jobs plus temporary construction jobs. The agreement sets terms on distance from the town of Sharon, runoff and sound limits. The vote drew immediate opposition from residents present at the county annex. (KWCH)

Financing transactions added this period

  • Anthropic, Lambda, Nvidia and Hut 8. other, $35 billion cloud agreement as reported; the reports did not disclose the agreement’s term, GPU count, payment schedule or computing capacity, and some secondary coverage described it as six years. Anthropic agreed a reported $35 billion cloud computing agreement with Lambda, a San Jose based cloud provider in which Nvidia is an investor. The capacity is reported to run through Hut 8’s Beacon Point campus in Nueces County, Texas, a facility of six data halls totaling 352 MW of critical IT capacity, with Nvidia holding the underlying lease and Lambda installing Nvidia systems. Neither Anthropic nor Lambda has published the contract terms, and Hut 8’s project bond disclosure names the tenant only as rated AA- or higher. Press coverage places Anthropic’s cumulative cloud commitments announced in recent months at approximately $175 billion. (Bloomberg)
  • Crusoe Energy Systems and Jane Street. other, Reported at roughly $13 billion over five years; neither party has published the contract. Bloomberg reported on 3 September 2026 that Crusoe had signed a five-year cloud contract worth roughly $13 billion to supply Jane Street with GPU clusters and related AI infrastructure through the Crusoe cloud platform, described as Crusoe’s highest-profile cloud customer to date. Press reporting places Jane Street at roughly $19 billion of contracted AI compute across Crusoe and CoreWeave combined. The atlas records this as press-reported; no company release or filing states the terms. (Bloomberg)
  • Nscale, Figure and Nvidia. other, “an initial commitment of $3.5 billion of compute and the intent to scale to over $6 billion”; the $6 billion figure is an intent, not a commitment. Nscale and Figure announced a strategic partnership to deploy the Nvidia Vera Rubin platform across up to 100,000 GPUs, with an initial commitment of $3.5 billion of compute and a stated intent to scale to over $6 billion. Initial GPU deployment is targeted for the second half of 2027 in Barstow, Texas. Figure will use the capacity to train its Helix model, Nscale becomes Figure’s preferred compute provider, and Nscale is making a strategic investment in Figure that will make it a Figure shareholder. The size of that equity investment was not disclosed. (Nscale press release)
  • Flex Ltd. and EPC Power. acquisition, $4.4 billion transaction value, subject to customary adjustments. Flex entered a definitive agreement to acquire EPC Power at a value of $4.4 billion. EPC Power, founded in 2010 and headquartered in California, supplies power conversion equipment for data center and grid applications, engineered for 800V data center power architectures with capabilities across rectifiers, DC-DC conversion and planned solid-state transformers. On closing, EPC Power is expected to join Flex’s Cloud and Power Infrastructure segment, which Flex plans to separate into an independent publicly traded company in the first calendar quarter of 2027. (Flex press release)
  • Bitdeer Technologies Group. acquisition, Approximately $100 million, paid in cash, for approximately 200 acres. Bitdeer completed the acquisition of approximately 200 acres of greenfield property in Milam County, Texas for total consideration of approximately $100 million paid in cash. The parcel adjoins the existing Rockdale facility and was formerly part of an Alcoa aluminum smelting plant. Bitdeer states that following the transaction it owns or operates approximately 255 acres and 742 MW of existing and pipeline power capacity in Milam County, against approximately 563 MW of interconnected grid capacity today. (Bitdeer press release (GlobeNewswire))
  • Salute and T5 Data Centers. acquisition, Terms not disclosed. Salute entered a definitive agreement to acquire T5 Operations, the data center operations business of T5. Terms were not disclosed. Salute states that on closing the acquisition will expand its footprint to more than 15 GW of data center capacity under management across roughly 150 markets globally and take worldwide staff above 3,800. Separately and effective 1 September 2026, T5 Construction was spun out as EverOn Data Center Services, an independent data center general contractor, a business whose revenue T5 states grew from $87 million in 2021 to $1.7 billion in 2025. (Salute press release)

Financing transactions added this period, newly verified from earlier periods

These entries were added in this cycle but their own dates fall before the current month. They are documentation catching up, not new activity.

  • Blackstone and Google. jv equity, Initial $5 billion equity commitment from Blackstone. Blackstone announced a joint venture with Google to create a new United States company offering data center capacity, operations, networking and Google Cloud Tensor Processing Units as a compute-as-a-service offering, with an initial $5 billion equity commitment from Blackstone. The company is led by Benjamin Treynor Sloss, most recently Google’s chief programs officer, and expects to bring a first 500 MW of capacity online in 2027. (Blackstone press release)
  • Williams Companies, Blackstone Credit & Insurance, Apollo and KKR. jv equity, $5.34 billion of committed capital for a 49 percent noncontrolling equity interest in five behind-the-meter power projects. Williams announced an agreement with funds managed by Blackstone Credit & Insurance, in partnership with Apollo and KKR, for $5.34 billion of committed capital in exchange for a 49 percent noncontrolling equity interest in five behind-the-meter power projects serving data center and industrial load. The five projects are Socrates, Apollo, Aquila, Socrates the Younger and Neo. The Socrates project in New Albany, Ohio serves a Meta affiliate and was approved by the Ohio Power Siting Board in June 2025. (Williams press release (Business Wire))

Status changes

  • Imperial Valley Computer Manufacturing campus. moratorium, now litigation. Would be largest data center in California at ~1M sq ft; promoted as producing 2,500 construction jobs and $28.7M/yr tax revenue; county supervisors first approved parcel merger April 2026 then reversed with moratorium after public outcry; developer Rucci previously ran an Ohio strip club and rehab center. The developer has separately sued the City of Imperial in federal court over the project. On 1 September 2026 Imperial County Superior Court Judge L. Brooks Anderholt issued a tentative decision finding that the county prejudicially abused its discretion by approving the lot merger without first completing CEQA review for the whole project, and directing that the approvals be set aside pending a full Environmental Impact Report. The ruling is not final and both parties may comment before a final decision. Separately, Judge Jeffrey Jones ruled in August 2026 that the county’s emergency data center moratorium be set aside, finding that officials had not identified an immediate threat to public health or welfare. The county has confirmed the ruling and states it is preparing a new proposed moratorium for board consideration.

Site status changes

  • Kuna data center. construction, now operating.

How to read this

Every figure in the atlas links to the page that states it. Where a value could not be confirmed from a fetched source, the entry reads n.a. rather than an estimate, and roughly two-thirds of the capital-at-risk rows carry either a dollar figure or a megawatt figure but not both, because local rezoning dockets disclose acreage and square footage while investment figures come from economic-development announcements that a withdrawn project never makes. The dollar total of the rows that do disclose a figure is therefore a floor, not a census.

The atlas sits alongside two companion references: the Nationwide Data Center Delay Watchlist, which tracks project-level slippage, queues, and securities filings, and the U.S. Data Center Moratorium Tracker, which maps state and local policy measures. All citations behind this atlas are listed on one page.

Would you like the atlas update?

The atlas is re-verified and republished on Tuesday, Thursday and Saturday. You get one email when it goes out, with what changed.

Also send me

Receive a short introduction on days 3, 7 and 14, plus the updates you select. Unsubscribe in one click. Privacy

You're on the list. The next atlas update will land in your inbox when it publishes.
You are subscribed. Read the latest tracker

Data Center Capital Atlas Update: September 5, 2026

Get new SAVRN Insights by email

A short introduction on days 3, 7 and 14, plus new SAVRN research articles. Unsubscribe at any time.

We use your address to send the introduction and updates described above. See our Privacy Policy.

You’re on the list. Your subscription is saved.