Skip to page content
SAVRN
Search Plan a project
SAVRN Research · Capital Atlas · Indiana

Indiana Data Center Investment Tracker

Indiana carries 14 named site commitments worth at least $69.5B in disclosed capital, set against 44 projects blocked, delayed or restricted, 14 cancelled or blocked and 25 delayed or under moratorium, as of October 8, 2026.

Updated October 8, 2026 14 named sites 44 blocked, delayed or restricted 3 financing transactions 121 sources
Indiana
IN
10 capital providers on record
Named sites
14
Site-level commitments the atlas records in Indiana
Disclosed capital floor
$69.5B
Sum of sites with a stated dollar figure. Sites without one are listed, not counted
Disclosed capacity
n.a.
Sum of sites with a stated megawatt figure
Blocked, delayed or restricted
44
$66.9B of announced capital in those projects
Who is investing

Who is investing in data centers in Indiana?

The largest disclosed commitments in Indiana are Amazon (AWS) (Project Rainier, New Carlisle / St. Joseph County, $26.0B); Anthropic (Project Rainier (New Carlisle), $11.0B); Meta Platforms (Lebanon hyperscale development, $10.0B). Together the 14 named sites here carry a disclosed floor of $69.5B; sites with no dollar figure are listed but not counted.
Named sites

Named data center sites in Indiana

Each row is one site-level commitment with its capital provider, the figure the source states, and the status the source gives it. Capital is shown as one compact figure; the verbatim wording is in the row's sources.

SiteCapital providerPlaceCapitalMWStatusSources
Project Rainier, New Carlisle / St. Joseph County
Approved August 2024; opened October 2025; expansion announced November 2025
Amazon (AWS)
with NIPSCO
New Carlisle, St. Joseph County $26.0B n.a. operating
Project Rainier (New Carlisle)
activated October 2025
Anthropic
with Amazon, AWS
New Carlisle $11.0B n.a. operating
Lebanon hyperscale development
Meta Platforms Lebanon $10.0B n.a. announced
DataOne AI factory campus (Logix Innovation Campus)
Announced 16 September 2026 (company release); open houses 21 and 22 September 2026; community enhancement agreement approved 5-2 by Frankfort Common Council Monday 28 September 2026; at least two further votes and impact studies pending
DataOne Frankfort, Clinton County ~$7.5B n.a. announced
AWS data center campus near R.M. Schahfer Generating Station (Wheatfield)
Development agreements approved Monday 15 June 2026; site work under way by 23 August 2026
Amazon (AWS)
with NIPSCO (site owner), Jasper County
Wheatfield, Jasper County $7.0B n.a. under construction
Sabey Decatur Township data center
Incentives approved 16 September 2026
Sabey Data Centers Indianapolis (Decatur Township), Marion County $4.0B n.a. approved
Project Zodiac, Google Fort Wayne data center campus
Phase 3 wetland permit approved 10 September 2026
Alphabet / Google
with Hatchworks LLC (developer), Openings Mitigation Bank
Fort Wayne, Allen County $2.0B n.a. under construction
Franklin Township proposal (withdrawn)
Withdrawn in September
Alphabet / Google Franklin Township, outside Indianapolis $1.0B n.a. withdrawn
Microsoft La Porte data center (Radius Industrial Park)
Announced June 2024; entitlement phase reported 7 January 2025
Microsoft (Azure)
with City of La Porte, NIPSCO
La Porte, La Porte County $1.0B n.a. announced
AWS Hobart data center campus (Hobart Tech Park and Ewen Farm)
Final plat tabled 4 September 2026; air permit application filed 24 July 2026
Amazon (AWS)
with NIPSCO, City of Hobart
Hobart, Lake County n.a. n.a. under construction
DC BLOX east side Indianapolis data center campus (305 Fintail Drive, former Ford plant)
Approved 6-1 Wednesday 15 July 2026; judicial review filed August 2026
DC BLOX
with Thunderbird CC Land Partners (landowner)
Indianapolis, Marion County n.a. n.a. approved (use variance); judicial review pending
Digital Realty Kokomo data center campus (Industrial Park North)
Announced Thursday 1 October 2026 (mayor's State of the City address); single-outlet report (Kokomo Tribune); completion projected 2033
Digital Realty Trust
with City of Kokomo
Kokomo, Howard County n.a. n.a. proposed
Microsoft Granger data center campus (former St. Joe Farm)
Land purchase June 2024; county update 18 February 2026; TIF vote tabled 25 August 2026
Microsoft (Azure)
with City of Mishawaka (water and sewer provider)
Granger, St. Joseph County n.a. n.a. proposed
Mt. Comfort Technology Campus (northwest of County Roads 500 North and 500 West, Buck Creek Township)
Letter of intent August 2026; public open house Wednesday 30 September 2026; single outlet
EQT
with Wabash Valley Power Association (substation interconnection)
Buck Creek Township, Hancock County n.a. n.a. proposed
Capital at risk

Blocked, delayed or restricted in Indiana

Every project in Indiana on the atlas's capital-at-risk record: the action taken, who took it, and the announced capital affected. Restarts and reversals are recorded with the same weight as blocks.

ProjectDeveloperJurisdictionActionCapitalSources
Project Rainier / New Carlisle
other 2024-26; capital grew from $11B to $26B per source
AWS St. Joseph County
Approved and building; ~half built by May 2026
≥$26.0B
New Carlisle $13B campus
denied Jul 16 2026
Amazon (reported) New Carlisle, St. Joseph County
St. Joseph County Council voted 7-2 after a 10-hour, marathon meeting to deny rezoning ~1,000 acres of farmland off Chicago Trail.
$13.0B
Lebanon LEAP campus
other Jun 2026
Meta Boone County
Exempt from county moratorium (annexed)
$10.0B
301 Digital Crossroads (Hammond)
terminated Jul 1 2026
CoreWeave / Decennial Group Hammond
City of Hammond announced the expiration of the $7B Development Agreement at 301 Digital Crossroads after required milestones were not met by the June 30, 2026 deadline; two prior extensions had already been granted. Parties: City of Hammond, Hammond Redevelopment Commission, Decennial Group, CoreWeave.
$7.0B
Sabey Decatur Township campus
moratorium Mar 1 2026
Sabey Data Centers Decatur Township, Indianapolis (Marion County)
Metropolitan Development Commission approved the $4B Sabey project in March 2026; one of the three flashpoint projects behind Indianapolis's moratorium debate. Indianapolis Metropolitan Development Commission approved about $240 million in tax breaks for Sabey's $4 billion Decatur Township data center on 16 September 2026, with Commissioner Schumacher voting against. Community commitments reported include $29.8 million to $39.8 million of investment, aquatic center financing, $5 million for nearby roads, and $50,000 for The Arts Council of Indianapolis. The Metropolitan Development Commission had approved the 250 MW, 130-acre project's variance 6-2 on 18 March 2026, and it is one of three previously approved projects exempt from the Marion County moratorium adopted 10 August 2026
$4.0B
Brassie Golf Course Data Center
cancelled June 1, 2024
Provident Realty Advisors Town of Chesterton
Provident Realty Advisors proposed a $1.3B data center on the 200-acre former Brassie Golf Course site along Pearson Road.
$1.3B
Chesterton campus
withdrawn Jun 2024
Provident Chesterton / Porter County
Application withdrawn
$1.3B
Provident Realty Advisors Town of Burns Harbor
cancelled May 5, 2025
Provident Realty Advisors Town of Burns Harbor
Provident Realty Advisors, after being rejected in Chesterton, proposed a seven-building, 102-acre data center campus at the corner of S. Babcock and Haglund Roads on the Worthington Steel property.
$1.3B
Hancock County MegaSite
cancelled Jul 2025
undisclosed hyperscaler Hancock County
Cancelled after legislature declined a $180M incentive
$1.0B
Project Flo
cancelled September 22, 2025
Google Franklin Township (Indianapolis)
Google withdrew its 468-acre 'Project Flo' data center in Franklin Township, Indianapolis on September 22, 2025, hours before the City-County Council was expected to vote it down.
$1.0B
Project Flo, Franklin Township
denied Jun-Sep 2025
Google Marion County
Rezoning denied 7-0; investment shifted to New Carlisle
$1.0B
AWS Hobart data center campus (Hobart Tech Park and Ewen Farm) fill permit lawsuit
litigation Suit pending in Lake Superior Court (filing date not stated); court appearance postponed 22 September 2026; reported 27 September 2026
Amazon Web Services Lake Superior Court (suit against the Hobart Plan Commission and Common Council)
Four Eagle Creek subdivision residents have sued the Hobart Plan Commission and Common Council in Lake Superior Court seeking a preliminary injunction to nullify the fill permit the Plan Commission approved, without findings of fact, for mass grading of the AWS site, aiming to restart the plat and site plan approval process. The city has moved to dismiss; a possible ruling on 22 September 2026 slipped when a plaintiffs' attorney could not appear, and an attorney conference was set for 30 September 2026. Grading continues meanwhile; the Plan Commission granted preliminary plat approval in May and tabled final plat approval on 4 September 2026.
n.a.
American Tower Corporation Pike Township (Indianapolis withdrawal)
cancelled February 2, 2026
American Tower Corporation Pike Township (Indianapolis withdrawal)
American Tower Corporation withdrew its rezoning petition for a proposed 20,000-square-foot data center near W. 79th Street and Township Line Road in Pike Township, Indianapolis, after sustained pushback
n.a.
American Tower data center rezoning (7701 Walnut Drive, Pike Township)
withdrawn Petition withdrawn 2 February 2026; single outlet
American Tower Corp. Indianapolis Metropolitan Development Commission
American Tower Corp. withdrew its rezoning petition for a 20,000-square-foot data center on 7 acres of its property at 7701 Walnut Drive in Pike Township by an attorney's email on 2 February 2026, ahead of a 12 February hearing before the Metropolitan Development Commission hearing examiner. The company said it withdrew after learning Indianapolis is revising its zoning regulations and would review the project once that process is complete. Residents and environmental groups had opposed the plan.
n.a.
Boone County data center moratorium
moratorium Approved unanimously 15 June 2026; effective 16 June 2026 through 15 June 2027
n.a. Boone County Board of Commissioners
The Boone County, Indiana, Board of Commissioners unanimously approved an ordinance on Monday 15 June 2026 establishing a one-year moratorium on new data center development in unincorporated areas of the county, effective 16 June 2026 through 15 June 2027. The Boone County Area Plan Commission had recommended the moratorium by 6-0 votes on 6 May and 3 June 2026. The county said it will use the pause to study data center impacts while updating its 2009 Comprehensive Plan and 1998 Zoning Ordinance.
n.a.
Burns Harbor
blocked 2024-25; dollar value n.a.
Provident Porter County
Blocked
n.a.
Cass County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted April 2026
n.a. Cass County
Cass County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated April 2026. Board of Commissioners adopted Ordinance Comm-Ord-2026-08 on 21 April 2026, on the Plan Commission's favorable recommendation from an Apr 7 hearing. The ordinance amends the zoning ordinance's district-use table to mark "Data Processing" a prohibited use in every district, Agricultural, Residential, Business, Industrial and Commercial General, a permanent ban, not a time-limited pause. All three commissioners (Ruth Baker, president; Mike Deitrich; Roger Spencer) signed it, 3-0. No named company or project triggered it. "Cass County" + "data center" news searches are dominated by an unrelated fight in Cass County, Michigan, do not conflate the two. The measure has no end date by design.
n.a.
Clark County one-year data center moratorium
moratorium Approved unanimously 27 August 2026; one year; single outlet
n.a. Clark County Commissioners
The Clark County Commissioners unanimously approved an ordinance on Thursday 27 August 2026 imposing a one-year moratorium on data center construction in the unincorporated county. The county plan commission had earlier voted to recommend the measure.
n.a.
Clarksville data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted July 2026
n.a. Clarksville
Clarksville, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated July 2026. Permanent ban on data centers; town council updated ordinances to prohibit data center facilities. The measure has no end date by design.
n.a.
Clinton County data center, precast plant and hydroponic farm rezoning
denied Denied 20 January 2026
Not named in reporting Clinton County
The Clinton County Board of Commissioners voted 3-0 on 20 January 2026 to deny rezoning about 714.55 acres from A-1 agricultural to I-1 light industrial for a combined data center, precast plant and hydroponic farm. Commissioners cited the lack of signed, matching commitments from the developer and landowner and impacts on nearby property owners. The parcels remain agricultural.
n.a.
Dearborn County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted February 2026
n.a. Dearborn County
Dearborn County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated February 2026. Up to 1-year moratorium on processing rezoning applications for commercial solar, battery storage (BESS), and data centers, adopted Feb 25 and effective 26 February 2026. Prompted by 1,700+ petition signatures against Linea Energy's roughly 1,200-acre solar proposal for Manchester Township; no data center application had been filed. The county is drafting a solar ordinance first and has paused data-center/BESS ordinance work until that's done; a 7-member citizen advisory committee (26 applicants for 6 seats) formed in May 2026 to advise on the solar rules. The measure runs to 25 February 2027 and covers rezoning requests.
n.a.
Elkhart data center and battery storage moratorium
moratorium Adopted 27 August 2026, runs to December 2027
n.a. City of Elkhart
The Elkhart City Council voted 9-0 on 27 August 2026 to adopt a moratorium on data centers and battery storage facility projects running until December 2027. The city will not accept applications for either use during that period while it develops regulations addressing noise, water use and electricity demand. The moratorium applies to the City of Elkhart only, not to Elkhart County or surrounding jurisdictions.
n.a.
Evansville 180-day data center moratorium
moratorium Approved 5 October 2026 (second reading); 180 days, extendable; vote count not reported
n.a. Evansville City Council
The Evansville City Council approved a 180-day moratorium on new data center development, pausing data center applications, on Monday 5 October 2026 while officials study effects on infrastructure, utilities and neighborhoods and finalize zoning rules. The moratorium can be extended. Council President Ben Trockman said the decision followed sustained public concern.
n.a.
Fayette County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted May 2026
n.a. Fayette County
Fayette County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated May 2026. Commissioners approved the ordinance 5 May 2026, effective May 18, contingent on the City of Connersville adopting the same measure (the county and city share an Area Plan Commission) at its own May 18 meeting. Economic-development CEO Brad Colter told commissioners there was no data-center deal, NDA or discussion in place for the county, and backed the pause so the APC could commission an impact study and draft zoning standards; Commissioner Dale Strong said it "will give the Planning Commission time to develop appropriate zoning regulations." Preemptive, no local data-center policy existed before this. The measure runs to 18 May 2027.
n.a.
Fulton County campus
moratorium Mar 2026
n.a. Fulton County
Moratorium active
n.a.
Gary one-year data center moratorium (executive order)
moratorium Executive order signed 16 September 2026; one year
n.a. City of Gary
Mayor Eddie Melton signed an executive order on 16 September 2026 imposing a one-year moratorium on new data center development, covering data centers that directly or indirectly connect to or add demand on anything the City of Gary owns or provides. The city has no operating data centers.
n.a.
Grant County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted March 2026
n.a. Grant County
Grant County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated March 2026. Ordinance 4-2026: 24-month moratorium on improvement-location permits for data centers in unincorporated Grant County, unanimous (3-0), or until the Area Plan Commission's data center zoning amendments are adopted, whichever comes first. Does not bind Marion, Gas City or other incorporated towns. An APC subcommittee finished its first review of a draft ordinance in August 2026. The measure runs to 16 March 2028.
n.a.
Howard County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted August 2026
n.a. Howard County
Howard County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated August 2026. 1-year permit moratorium in unincorporated Howard County, adopted unanimously (3-0) after the Plan Commission's nearly unanimous favorable recommendation. County Attorney Alan Wilson introduced it, saying the zoning ordinance doesn't cover data centers and stating plainly at adoption: "No one is coming. There are no applications pending." Commissioner Brad Bray volunteered to chair a study committee after public pressure; the pause may lift early once rules are drafted or be extended if needed. Separate from the City of Kokomo's own track, where the Common Council rejected a moratorium and is instead advancing a zoning ordinance for a 700-acre annexed industrial park (final vote expected 14 September 2026). The measure runs to 18 August 2027.
n.a.
Madison County data center moratorium extension
moratorium Extended 4 August 2026 for one year
n.a. (county-wide action) Madison County
Madison County commissioners unanimously approved a one-year extension of the county's data center moratorium on 4 August 2026. A new committee of planning commissioners and citizen appointees will draft zoning rules, which could include a permanent ban. Residents cited resource use, utility bills and noise.
n.a.
Marion County data center moratorium (Proposal 238)
moratorium Aug 10 2026
n.a. Indianapolis / Marion County
City-County Council voted 23-1 on 10 August 2026 to pause new data center approvals in Marion County until at least 31 December 2027. Three previously approved projects are exempt: DC Blox in Warren Township approved July 2026, Metrobloks in Martindale-Brightwood approved May 2026, and Sabey's $4 billion Decatur Township campus approved March 2026. The measure advanced to the Metropolitan Development Commission for final approval on 19 August 2026.
n.a.
Marshall County proposal
moratorium 2025-26
Amazon Marshall County
County moratorium (Feb 2025, expired); Marshall County ban active Apr 2026
n.a.
Merrillville data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted June 2026
n.a. Merrillville
Merrillville, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated June 2026. 1-year moratorium (1 June 2026 to 31 May 2027) adopted at the Town Council's 26 May 2026 meeting, citing four developers who had already approached the town. Council President Rick Bella said the town is watching the AWS/"Hobart Devco" campus under construction in neighboring Hobart before writing its own rules. A widely syndicated report of a further 6-month extension (~July 2026) could not be traced to a verifiable source. The measure runs to 31 May 2027.
n.a.
Miami County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted May 2026
n.a. Miami County
Miami County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated May 2026. Moratorium on accepting, processing and approving all data center applications and permits, adopted 4 May 2026 on the Plan Commission's Apr 8 favorable recommendation. No named company drove it, an earlier, unnamed proposal "fell through" per the county's own account, and residents' stated concern was mainly proximity to Boone County's Meta campus. A permanent zoning ordinance (draft standards: 2.5-mile setback from residences, 5,000-ft general setback, per Plan Administrator Corey Roser) was set for final consideration 20 July 2026, but no source confirms whether commissioners adopted, revised or tabled it, the ordinance's terms and the moratorium's current status are unconfirmed pending that. The measure has no documented term and covers all data center uses.
n.a.
New Albany data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted July 2026
n.a. New Albany
New Albany, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated July 2026. Up to 1-year moratorium on data center campuses over 100,000 sq ft, citywide and in the 2-mile fringe planning jurisdiction. Proposed by Mayor Jeff Gahan on 9 June 2026, advanced by the Plan Commission Jun 23, and adopted unanimously by the Common Council Jul 16. Study covers infrastructure, utility costs, environmental effects and neighborhood character, feeding into the city's Comprehensive Plan. No company had applied in New Albany at adoption, proactive, driven by regional pressure from the Louisville-area boom (Meta's ~700,000 sq ft facility at River Ridge in neighboring Jeffersonville, and a proposed Shadow Lake Business Park project in Charlestown). The measure runs to 16 July 2027 and applies at a threshold of 100,000 sq ft.
n.a.
Outrigger Industrial data center (I-69 and US 50, Washington)
rejected Council vote 11 May 2026; single outlet
Outrigger Industrial Washington City Council
The Washington City Council voted unanimously on Monday 11 May 2026 to stop all dealings with Outrigger Industrial, developer of a proposed data center at the southeast corner of I-69 and US 50, instead of taking up a draft will-serve letter for city water and electricity. Council member Darin Lunsford said the developer had not answered the city's questions. The council also voted unanimously to ask the city attorney to look into a temporary moratorium on future data center developments.
n.a.
Prologis data center rezoning near Leesburg
denied Plan commission 8-0 against on 2 April 2025; commissioners denied 3-0 on 22 April 2025
Prologis Kosciusko County Commissioners
The Kosciusko County Commissioners voted 3-0 on Tuesday 22 April 2025 to deny rezoning 554 acres of farmland near Leesburg from agricultural to industrial for a data center planned by Prologis. The vote upheld the Area Plan Commission's 8-0 recommendation of 2 April 2025, made after nearly three hours of public comment.
n.a.
Pulaski County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted February 2026
n.a. Pulaski County
Pulaski County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated February 2026. 12-month moratorium, unanimous, after the Advisory Plan Commission recommended it 5-0 on 26 January 2026. Preemptive, no proposal had been submitted as of the vote. Commissioner Jennifer Knebel cited the strain of the ongoing Mammoth Solar project as a reason for the pause; Commissioner Don Street said he'd hear a proposal if one came and wants the eventual ordinance to cover setbacks, power and water. A search-engine claim of a July 2026 extension vote could not be traced to any real article or county record and is not included here, treat the moratorium as running through approximately 2 February 2027 absent primary-sourced confirmation otherwise. The measure runs to 2 February 2027.
n.a.
Putnam County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted November 2025
n.a. Putnam County
Putnam County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated November 2025. 1-year moratorium on data centers, solar, wind, and SMRs in unincorporated areas, adopted 2-1 (Beck and Helmer for; Woodall opposed, his stated reasoning wasn't individually reported). ~100 residents packed the meeting after EnergyRe's revised application for a 150 MW solar farm near Cloverdale (cut from 200 MW / ~2,000 acres, with 500-ft setbacks added). Commissioner Beck framed the pause as a chance to rewrite the county's Unified Development Ordinance. Primarily a solar fight, no distinct data-center proposal has surfaced for Putnam County, with data centers, wind and SMRs bundled in preemptively. EnergyRe subsequently withdrew the solar filing. The measure runs to 17 November 2026 and applies at a threshold of 150 MW.
n.a.
River Ridge
other Aug 3 2026; dollar value n.a.
Meta Jeffersonville
Exempt from one-year citywide moratorium
n.a.
Shelbyville site
delayed Jan-Feb 2026
Prologis Shelby County
Delayed
n.a.
St. Joseph County hyperscale data center ban process ("data center balance" resolution)
other Resolution passed 6-3 on 22 September 2026; Area Plan Commission recommendation due within 60 working days
n.a. St. Joseph County Council
On 22 September 2026 the St. Joseph County Council voted 6-3 for a resolution sponsored by Amy Drake directing the Area Plan Commission to define terms and draft zoning ordinance amendments to prohibit new hyperscale data centers in unincorporated St. Joseph County. Council President Bryan Tanner said the vote is an initiating action, not a ban. Council members Diana Hess, Mark Catanzarite and Dan Schaetzle voted no. WSBT reported the Area Plan Commission has 60 working days to return a recommendation to the council.
n.a.
Warrick County 180-day data center moratorium (Project Zora)
moratorium Approved unanimously 11 August 2026; 180 days
Unnamed (Project Zora) Warrick County Board of Commissioners
The Warrick County Board of Commissioners voted unanimously at a special meeting on Tuesday 11 August 2026 to pause data center development for 180 days. The Area Plan Commission had forwarded the moratorium ordinance the evening before. The pause lets a study committee review a proposed data center ordinance, which the plan commission was set to discuss on 9 November. Commissioners had met in executive session in late July about Project Zora, a potential data center on about 1,200 acres of reclaimed mine land.
n.a.
White County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted October 2025
n.a. White County
White County, Indiana, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated October 2025. 12-month moratorium on new data center development in unincorporated White County, adopted 2-1 (Davis and Pass for; Smolek dissenting, saying a development agreement wasn't imminent and the county still owed follow-up on an earlier wind/solar pause). Prompted by Blue Ladder Development's proposed data center at Mid-America Commerce Park in Wolcott (roughly 184-300 acres, up to four data halls), which had seen repeated rezoning delays; residents cited water, land-use and transparency concerns. A same-named "White County" moratorium with different commissioner names found in search is almost certainly a different state's White County, not this one. The measure runs to 20 October 2026, applies at a threshold of 300 acres and covers rezoning requests.
n.a.
Zionsville one-year data center moratorium (also wind, solar and battery storage)
moratorium Approved 21 September 2026; one year
n.a. Zionsville Town Council
The Zionsville Town Council approved a one-year moratorium on 21 September 2026 covering data centers, solar and wind farms and battery energy storage systems, and directed the planning department and Plan Commission to review the zoning code, which has no permitted land use for them. Council attorney Heather Harris said the pause was partly driven by neighboring actions, including Boone County's one-year data center moratorium in June.
n.a.
Financing

Financing transactions tied to Indiana sites

Transactions the atlas ties to a named site in Indiana: joint ventures, project bonds, credit facilities, leases and power agreements. Amounts are as stated; overlapping commitments are never summed.

PartiesInstrumentAmountDateSiteSources
Sabey Corporation + Indianapolis Metropolitan Development Commission
The Indianapolis Metropolitan Development Commission approved $240 million in tax breaks for Sabey's $4 billion data center in Decatur Township. Sabey is set to become the city's second-largest taxpayer. One commissioner opposed
incentive $240M Approved 16 September 2026 Sabey Decatur Township data center
Microsoft + St. Joe Farm (seller)
Microsoft acquired nearly 930 acres of farmland from St. Joe Farm in Granger, St. Joseph County, Indiana, for $77.5 million, according to county recorder documents, for a planned data center campus.
acquisition $78M June 2024 (St. Joseph County recorder documents) Microsoft Granger data center campus (former St. Joe Farm)
Amazon + NIPSCO
Amazon's November 2025 Indiana announcement included an energy agreement with NIPSCO expected to provide approximately $1 billion in cost savings to Indiana residents and businesses over 15 years.
other n.a. Announced November 2025 alongside the $15B Indiana expansion Project Rainier, New Carlisle / St. Joseph County
Policy context

What governs a data center in Indiana

Indiana (statewide)state
County-level moratoriums span Putnam (Nov 2025), White (Oct 2025, expired), Starke (Dec 2025), Marshall (ban, Apr 2026), Fulton (Mar 2026), Dearborn and Pulaski (Feb 2026), Merrillville (Jun 2026), Boone (proposed May 2026), Indianapolis (pause proposed May 2026); 13 tracked actions. C.4 floors: 2,250 MW (Marshall) + 500 MW (Fulton) + 300 MW (Franklin Twp) + 250 MW (Hancock); $3.3B blocked/cancelled; $10B exempted (Meta Lebanon); $26B proceeding (AWS).
Indiana's 13 tracked actions include an Indianapolis development committee vote of 10-3 to advance a moratorium pausing approvals through the end of 2027.
Indiana (IURC order on Indiana Michigan Power large-load tariff)state
Applies to new or expanded facilities of at least 70 MW contract capacity, or 150 MW aggregated across a company, in I&M's Indiana territory. In force since February 2025. Conditions on service, not a moratorium
The Indiana Utility Regulatory Commission approved, with one modification, a settlement among Indiana Michigan Power (AEP), the Indiana Office of Utility Consumer Counselor, Citizens Action Coalition, Amazon Data Services, Google, Microsoft and the Data Center Coalition that amends I&M's industrial tariff for large loads (I&M release dated 19 February 2025). New large-load customers must make long-term financial commitments proportional to their size: a 12-year minimum contract term, an 80% minimum monthly billing demand, increased collateral and an exit fee. The commission added that any mutually agreed reduction of more than 20% in a customer's contracted peak capacity must be submitted to the IURC for review and approval. Cost allocation was deferred to later trackers or rate cases. I&M expects Indiana peak load to rise from 2,800 MW to more than 7,000 MW by 2030.

The policy layer for Indiana lives in three companion references: the Indiana Data Center Moratorium Tracker for every state measure and local moratorium on record, the Water Tracker for the water rules that touch a site, and the Grid Operator Watchlist for the large-load rules of the RTO or utility that decides whether it can energize.

On the map

Data centers in Indiana

The US Data Center Map identifies 82 facilities run by 40 operators in Indiana, each one placed from primary sources and listed by city and by operator, with this atlas record beside it.

Sources

Sources for Indiana

Every source cited on this page, once each. The full atlas source register is at Capital Atlas sources.

The SAVRN reference set

Seven references, one system

Capital, delay, policy, water, grid, permits and scarcity are one system seen from seven sides. Each reference is primary-sourced, refreshed on a schedule, and links into the others, so a project can be followed from the money committed to the docket that stopped it.

Have a specific address? Site Intelligence reads all seven references against one location, county, utility and grid operator included, and cites every finding.
Check an address →