Skip to page content
SAVRN
Search Plan a project
SAVRN Research · Capital Atlas · Wisconsin

Wisconsin Data Center Investment Tracker

Wisconsin carries 4 named site commitments worth at least $37.0B in disclosed capital, set against 45 projects blocked, delayed or restricted, 8 cancelled or blocked and 31 delayed or under moratorium, as of October 8, 2026.

Updated October 8, 2026 4 named sites 45 blocked, delayed or restricted 1 financing transaction 108 sources
Wisconsin
WI
4 capital providers on record
Named sites
4
Site-level commitments the atlas records in Wisconsin
Disclosed capital floor
$37.0B
Sum of sites with a stated dollar figure. Sites without one are listed, not counted
Disclosed capacity
n.a.
Sum of sites with a stated megawatt figure
Blocked, delayed or restricted
45
$58.8B of announced capital in those projects
Who is investing

Who is investing in data centers in Wisconsin?

The largest disclosed commitments in Wisconsin are DigitalBridge (Vantage Lighthouse campus, ~$15.0B); Vantage Data Centers (Vantage/OpenAI/Oracle Madison campus, $15.0B); Microsoft (Azure) (Mount Pleasant datacenter campus (Fairwater Wisconsin), ≥$7.0B). Together the 4 named sites here carry a disclosed floor of $37.0B; sites with no dollar figure are listed but not counted.
Named sites

Named data center sites in Wisconsin

Each row is one site-level commitment with its capital provider, the figure the source states, and the status the source gives it. Capital is shown as one compact figure; the verbatim wording is in the row's sources.

SiteCapital providerPlaceCapitalMWStatusSources
Vantage Lighthouse campus
Construction ramped up January 2026; 20 to 25 percent complete September 2026; staged deliveries to Oracle and OpenAI from end of 2027; TID lawsuit dismissed (oral ruling, reported 22 September 2026)
DigitalBridge Port Washington ~$15.0B n.a. under construction
Vantage/OpenAI/Oracle Madison campus
moratorium adopted January 13, 2026
Vantage Data Centers
with OpenAI, Oracle
Madison $15.0B n.a. paused
Mount Pleasant datacenter campus (Fairwater Wisconsin)
Announced 8 May 2024; expanded 18 September 2025; first facility completed 23 June 2026; second facility scheduled 2028. Preliminary work on the 900-acre future-phase land was paused in January, restarted, and paused again; a 2023 agreement gives Microsoft until July 2030 to start phase two.
Microsoft (Azure)
with National Grid Renewables
Mount Pleasant, Racine County ≥$7.0B n.a. construction
QTS DeForest campus (dropped)
Blackstone Village of DeForest n.a. n.a. withdrawn
Capital at risk

Blocked, delayed or restricted in Wisconsin

Every project in Wisconsin on the atlas's capital-at-risk record: the action taken, who took it, and the announced capital affected. Restarts and reversals are recorded with the same weight as blocks.

ProjectDeveloperJurisdictionActionCapitalSources
Lighthouse campus (Port Washington)
litigation Jul 10 2026
Oracle / Vantage Data Centers Port Washington, Ozaukee County
Nearly 1GW Stargate-partnership campus. The Wisconsin PSC's April 2026 order set financial guarantee requirements for hyperscale customers (see the Wisconsin PSC jurisdiction note). On 6 August 2026 the Wisconsin PSC told American Transmission Co. to resubmit its application for the roughly 100-mile power line project serving the $15 billion Port Washington campus, citing about 564 changes made after the application was deemed complete. ATC refiled on 14 September 2026 at an estimated $2.5 billion to $2.7 billion, up from $1.6 billion, with Oracle paying most of the cost; Vantage says the campus remains on track for 2028. Ozaukee County Circuit Judge Adam Gerol dismissed Great Lakes Neighbors, Inc. v. City of Port Washington Joint Review Board, a challenge to the creation of Tax Incremental District No. 5 for the project, on Wednesday 16 September 2026 on pleading grounds, without ruling on whether the district complied with Wisconsin law; the group said it will pursue other avenues.
$15.0B
Madison campus
moratorium Jan 13 2026
Vantage / OpenAI / Oracle Madison
One-year moratorium to study impacts
$15.0B
QTS DeForest / Vienna campus
cancelled Jan 27 2026
QTS Data Centers DeForest / Town of Vienna, Dane County
QTS's $12B proposal required annexing 1,600 acres from the Town of Vienna into DeForest. On Jan 27, 2026 village staff determined the project 'not feasible in DeForest' after ~7 months of undisclosed talks and recommended the village president reject the annexation petition; scheduled Feb 3 board vote and Feb 9 public hearing were rendered moot.
$12.0B
Project Nova
cancelled October 9, 2025
Microsoft Village of Caledonia
Microsoft cancelled its 244-acre, 900 MW Caledonia data center (Project Nova) after a 2,000-signature petition and strong community opposition forced a rethinking of the plan.
$7.0B
Caledonia campus
withdrawn 2025; $4.0B marked as estimate in source
Microsoft Racine County
Zoning denied Apr 2025; Microsoft withdrew Sep 2025
$4.0B
Menomonie Data Center
cancelled September 24, 2025
Balloonist LLC Menomonie
Menomonie signed an NDA with Balloonist LLC in February 2024, over a year before announcing the $1.6B data center proposal in July 2025.
$1.6B
Menomonie data center (Balloonist LLC)
paused Paused by the mayor in September 2025; zoning rewrite under way in mid 2026
Balloonist, LLC City of Menomonie
In September 2025 Mayor Randy Knaack halted city support for the project, writing to Balloonist that the city was not interested in negotiating incentives, after resident pushback over secrecy, water and energy use. Civic Media reported in July 2026 that the paused tax increment negotiations had stalled development and that the city, which could not otherwise block a use that fell under its warehousing definition, was preparing a data center zoning ordinance for introduction on 4 August 2026.
$1.6B
Project Cornmaze data center campus (Towns of Turtle and Beloit)
moratorium Cost agreements rejected and moratorium process started 29 July 2026 (Turtle) and 31 July 2026 (Beloit); Turtle 12-month moratorium since approved, adoption date not stated
Panattoni Development Co. Town of Turtle and Town of Beloit
On Wednesday 29 July 2026 the Town of Turtle Board of Supervisors unanimously rejected a revised cost-reimbursement agreement with Panattoni Development for a proposed $1 billion, 2 million sq ft hyperscale data center campus spanning the towns of Turtle and Beloit, and passed a resolution starting the process for a 12-month moratorium on developments of more than 10,000 sq ft. The Town of Beloit board unanimously took the same two actions on Friday 31 July 2026. The Beloit Daily News later reported that the Turtle board has approved the 12-month moratorium (adoption date not stated). Turtle board chair Roger Anclam, who had voted for the original agreement in early July 2026, faces a recall election over it. Panattoni said it would review the actions and determine a path forward.
$1.0B
Brookfield project
cancelled 2025
n.a. Brookfield
Cancelled
$600M
Waukesha project
cancelled 2025
n.a. Waukesha
Water utility denial; cancelled
$500M
West Allis project
cancelled 2025
n.a. West Allis
Zoning board rejection; cancelled
$500M
American Transmission Co. power line project serving the Port Washington (Lighthouse) campus for Vantage, Oracle and OpenAI
delayed Completeness revoked 6 August 2026; application refiled 14 September 2026
American Transmission Co. (for Vantage Data Centers, Oracle and OpenAI) Public Service Commission of Wisconsin
On 6 August 2026 the three-member Wisconsin PSC voted unanimously to revoke the December 2025 completeness determination for ATC's transmission application and ordered it resubmitted, citing about 564 amendments to route, scope, costs and environmental studies. The commission said the decision did not reject the project but reset review, jeopardizing ATC's late-2027 completion target. ATC refiled on 14 September 2026 with a revised cost of $2.5 billion to $2.7 billion, up from $1.6 billion, and estimated about 17 months of construction after a six- to 12-month approval process. Oracle will pay for most of the project, and ATC said the campus will not be served until the transmission facilities are in service. Research firm Aterio said in a report of 30 September 2026 that the campus could miss Oracle's target of delivering capacity in the second half of 2027 because ATC cannot start building until the PSC approves the refiled application: its base case puts partial grid power in December 2027 and full supply in October 2028, and an extended review could push those to June 2028 and April 2029. This is a third-party estimate, not a regulator or company statement; The Register said Oracle had been asked for comment.
n.a.
Ashwaubenon data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted January 2026
n.a. Ashwaubenon
Ashwaubenon, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated January 2026. 12-month moratorium on hyperscale data centers (>100,000 sq ft and >20 MW); Plan Commission voted 7-0. The measure runs to 2 June 2027 and applies at a threshold of 100,000 sq ft.
n.a.
Bellevue data center moratorium
moratorium Adopted 12 August 2026
n.a. Village of Bellevue, Brown County
The village board voted 5-0 on 12 August 2026 to amend chapter 500 of the village zoning code and block development or construction of data centers for 12 months, expiring in August 2027, to give trustees time to review effects on public health, land use, environmental constraints and general welfare.
n.a.
Chippewa County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted August 2026
n.a. Chippewa County
Chippewa County, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated August 2026. 12-month moratorium, 19-0, first and second readings the same night (extended from the 10 months committee proposed). Applies only to the six towns under county zoning, Anson, Eagle Point, Hallie, Lafayette, Wheaton, Woodmohr. Coverage puts the effective date in September without naming it, so the end date is not derivable. The measure has a stated duration whose end date is not recorded.
n.a.
Cloverleaf Infrastructure data center proposal (Village of Greenleaf)
withdrawn Developer withdrew the site 12 January 2026; announced 13 January 2026
Cloverleaf Infrastructure Village of Greenleaf
On Monday 12 January 2026 Cloverleaf told Village Board President Bonnie Crossman that the Village of Greenleaf was no longer being considered for its data center project, a decision she said was due mostly to community opposition. A Facebook group opposing the project had about 3,000 members in a village of about 900 residents.
n.a.
DC Rapids former paper mill data center
other Denial recommended 7-0 on 16 September 2026; Common Council action pending
DC Rapids LLC City of Wisconsin Rapids
The Wisconsin Rapids Plan Commission voted 7-0 on 16 September 2026 to recommend that the Common Council deny DC Rapids LLC's conditional use and site review applications to redevelop the former paper mill site as a data center. Staff identified 33 shortcomings, including missing electric utility approval, employment and shift projections and construction traffic details. The recommendation goes to the Common Council, reported for 20 October 2026, and the company may reapply. The city is separately drafting a data center moratorium. This is a recommendation, not a final denial.
n.a.
Dane County 18-month pause on hyperscale data center permits
moratorium Approved 4 June 2026; 18 months
n.a. Dane County Board of Supervisors
On Thursday 4 June 2026 the Dane County Board of Supervisors approved Sub 1 to 2026 RES-039, which bars receiving applications for or granting zoning permits for hyperscale data centers for 18 months. The Zoning and Land Regulation Committee had narrowed the measure to hyperscale facilities. The county will use the time to write zoning regulations.
n.a.
Dodge County 18-month data center moratorium
moratorium Advisory resolution 29-2 in June 2026; 18-month moratorium ordinance approved 18 August 2026
Meta (Beaver Dam project referenced) Dodge County Board of Supervisors
Dodge County supervisors voted 29-2 in June 2026 to adopt an 18-month moratorium on new data centers while ordinance guidelines are developed. The action followed resident complaints tied to construction of Meta's $1 billion, 700,000-square-foot data center in Beaver Dam Commerce Park, including dried creeks and wells. The Meta project is expected online in 2027. The June 2026 vote was an advisory resolution, not a moratorium, according to County Administrator Cameron Clapper; after a Land Resources and Parks Committee recommendation and public hearing, the Board of Supervisors approved the 18-month moratorium ordinance on Tuesday 18 August 2026, covering unincorporated areas in the 13 towns under county zoning.
n.a.
Door County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted January 2026
n.a. Door County
Door County, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated January 2026. 1-year moratorium on data centers and battery energy storage in unincorporated areas; board retains option to extend. The measure runs to 26 May 2027.
n.a.
Grant County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted January 2026
n.a. Grant County
Grant County, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated January 2026. Board of Supervisors voted 15-0 for 12-month moratorium on hyperscale data center zoning permits in unincorporated areas. Related to collapsed $1B data center proposal. The measure runs to 18 June 2027.
n.a.
Janesville 12-month data center moratorium
moratorium Approved 28 September 2026; 12 months
n.a. Janesville City Council
The Janesville City Council voted unanimously on Monday 28 September 2026 to approve a 12-month moratorium on data centers. The ordinance bars the city from accepting, processing, reviewing or approving data center applications, including rezoning requests, permits and annexation actions, while officials work on zoning and regulatory changes. Before the final vote the council removed recitals that referred specifically to the GM/JATCO site and the November referendum on that site, so the pause applies citywide.
n.a.
La Crosse 18-month data center moratorium
moratorium Approved 13 August 2026; effective immediately; 18 months
n.a. City of La Crosse Common Council
The La Crosse Common Council approved a temporary 18-month freeze on new data centers, barring permits for projects involving more than 1 petabyte of data or more than 2 MW of electricity. The freeze took effect immediately and runs 18 months unless lifted or replaced by zoning changes. Concerns cited included power demand, electromagnetic fields, noise, fire hazards and air quality. La Crosse County put its own 18-month pause for unincorporated areas in place in June 2026 and formed a study panel the city plans to join. The Common Council approved the moratorium on Thursday 13 August 2026.
n.a.
Manitowoc County 18-month data center moratorium
moratorium Approved unanimously 28 April 2026; 18 months
Cloverleaf Infrastructure (reported approaching landowners in three towns) Manitowoc County Board
The Manitowoc County Board voted unanimously on Tuesday 28 April 2026 to place an 18-month moratorium on data centers while the county researches and drafts zoning rules. The towns of Two Creeks, Two Rivers and Mishicot had passed identical resolutions in February 2026 asking the county for a one-year moratorium after Cloverleaf Infrastructure approached property owners.
n.a.
Marathon County 12-month data center moratorium (18 county-zoned towns)
moratorium Adopted 25 August 2026 (reported 21 September 2026); at least 12 months
n.a. Marathon County Board
The Marathon County Board approved on 25 August 2026 a zoning ordinance amendment imposing an at least 12-month pause on data center approvals in the 18 towns under county zoning. During the pause the county will not accept, process or issue land use, zoning or conditional use permits, or text amendments, for new data centers or expansions, while staff and the Environmental Resources Committee draft regulations; a progress report is due six months after passage. Previously issued approvals, ordinary maintenance and emergency actions are exempt.
n.a.
Menasha one-year data center moratorium
moratorium Approved 6-2 on Monday 5 October 2026; one year; single outlet
n.a. City of Menasha Common Council
The Menasha Common Council voted 6-2 on Monday 5 October 2026 to approve a one-year moratorium on data centers, giving the city time to update its zoning code before any proposal arrives. Mayor Austin Hammond described it as a pause to put guardrails in place; an alder voting no said staff should focus on tornado recovery.
n.a.
Metered Mining (Metered North) data center conditional use permit, Village of Hammond
litigation CUP approved by the Board of Appeals 8 June 2026; certiorari suit by the village board pending (filing date not stated); single outlet
Metered Mining Village of Hammond Village Board v. Village Board of Appeals (circuit court certiorari)
The Hammond Village Board voted 5-0 to deny a conditional use permit for Metered Mining's data center, but the village Board of Appeals approved the permit with conditions on 8 June 2026. The village board then hired new counsel and filed a writ of certiorari in circuit court contesting its own appeals board's decision. Metered Mining intervened and has moved to strike letters from state Rep. Rob Kreibich, a village trustee and residents from the record, arguing review is limited to the appeals board record. St. Croix County's 12-month moratorium does not reach the village.
n.a.
Microsoft Fairwater data center noise class action
litigation Class action filed 1 July 2026; single outlet
Microsoft Mount Pleasant / Sturtevant, Racine County
Three Sturtevant residents filed a class action against Microsoft on 1 July 2026 over noise, construction dust and light pollution from the Fairwater data center. The complaint says Microsoft did not install adequate acoustic barriers. Microsoft said on 18 June 2026 that engineering changes had resolved cooling-fan noise and that further mitigation was planned.
n.a.
Milton 18-month data center moratorium
moratorium Approved at a Tuesday council meeting, reported 18 August 2026; 18 months
n.a. City of Milton Common Council
The Milton Common Council approved an 18-month data center moratorium at a Tuesday meeting after Alderperson Ken Smith proposed extending a 12-month draft prepared in July. City officials said state law limits development moratoriums to 12 months, but described this measure as strictly for the review process. The ordinance cites concerns about noise, air and other impacts. State Sen. Mark Spreitzer spoke in support before the vote.
n.a.
Monroe County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted January 2026
n.a. Monroe County
Monroe County, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated January 2026. 18-month moratorium on medium/large data centers and all battery storage; passed 10-3. Small-scale DCs (<500 kW, no crypto) exempt. Environmental concerns include trout streams in driftless area. The measure runs to 21 January 2028 and applies at a threshold of 500 kW.
n.a.
Oneida County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted August 2026
n.a. Oneida County
Oneida County, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated August 2026. 1-year moratorium on data centers; unanimous vote; preemptive action with no known proposals. Excludes un-zoned areas of Sugar Camp, Monico, Enterprise, and City of Rhinelander. The measure runs to 19 August 2027.
n.a.
Oshkosh 12-month data center moratorium
moratorium Approved unanimously 8 September 2026; 12 months after publication
n.a. City of Oshkosh Common Council
The Oshkosh Common Council unanimously approved Ordinance 26-38 on Tuesday 8 September 2026, establishing a 12-month moratorium on data centers. The ordinance bars the city from receiving, processing, approving or issuing permits, licenses, zoning approvals, conditional use permits or site plans for data centers. It lasts 12 months after publication unless ended earlier. The council cited the rapid growth of hyperscale AI facilities in Wisconsin.
n.a.
Sauk County 18-month data center moratorium
moratorium Approved 27-1 on 15 September 2026; 18 months
n.a. Sauk County Board
The County Board approved an 18-month moratorium on new data centers 27-1 on 15 September 2026.
n.a.
Sawyer County 18-month moratorium on large data centers
moratorium Adopted, reported 20 August 2026; 18 months; single outlet (meeting summary service)
n.a. Sawyer County Board
The Sawyer County Board voted to adopt an 18-month temporary moratorium on development of large data centers and associated infrastructure, giving staff time to review zoning and propose setback, permitting and performance standards. The only fetched source is a Citizen Portal meeting summary dated 20 August 2026.
n.a.
Shawano County data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted January 2026
n.a. Shawano County
Shawano County, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated January 2026. 12-month moratorium on data centers in unincorporated towns under county zoning; does not affect cities, villages, or self-zoning towns. The measure runs to 24 June 2027.
n.a.
Sheboygan 12-month data center moratorium
moratorium Passed 9-0 on 20 July 2026; 12 months
n.a. City of Sheboygan
The Sheboygan Common Council unanimously passed a 12-month moratorium on data centers exceeding 10,000 square feet. The pause gives the council time to develop zoning code for data center uses. The Sheboygan Press reported the Common Council passed the moratorium 9-0 on 20 July 2026 with one alder excused; it bars zoning approvals and building permits for data centers larger than 10,000 square feet and exempts server rooms within properties that have other primary uses.
n.a.
St. Croix County 12-month data center moratorium
moratorium Approved 18-0 on 1 September 2026; 12 months
n.a. St. Croix County Board of Supervisors
The St. Croix County Board of Supervisors voted unanimously to enact a 12-month moratorium on data centers, according to a statement from state Rep. Rob Kreibich. The pause gives the county time to study long-term effects and develop guardrails before data centers can be proposed. Residents had raised concerns at packed county Community Development Committee and Hammond Village Board meetings about a small-scale data center proposed in Hammond. The Hudson Star-Observer reported that the moratorium does not apply to the Village of Hammond, where Metered Mining holds a conditional use permit, or to the towns of Forest, Hudson, St. Joseph and Troy.
n.a.
Tigerton data center moratorium
moratorium Resolution passed 15 September 2026; one year
Blake Simpson (proposal pending) Village of Tigerton
The Village Board passed a resolution on 15 September 2026 for a one-year moratorium on data centers, or until zoning policies are set, while a developer proposal is pending.
n.a.
Town of Beetown data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted May 2026
n.a. Town of Beetown
Town of Beetown, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated May 2026. Interim zoning ordinance blocking large data centers. Grant County; related to collapsed $1B data center proposal. The measure has no documented term.
n.a.
Town of Cassville data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted April 2026
n.a. Town of Cassville
Town of Cassville, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated April 2026. 2-year moratorium, unanimous. 36 sq mi in Grant County. Residents mobilized against a \$1B proposed project. The measure has a stated duration whose end date is not recorded.
n.a.
Town of Hampden data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted May 2026
n.a. Town of Hampden
Town of Hampden, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated May 2026. Data center temporary moratorium (Chapter 18 ordinance). Columbia County. The measure has no documented term.
n.a.
Town of Westport data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted April 2026
n.a. Town of Westport
Town of Westport, Wisconsin, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated April 2026. 1-year moratorium restricting new data centers and telecom centers to max 10,000 sq ft; voted 4-1. Catalyst was QTS Data Centers proposal in nearby DeForest. Dane County. The measure runs to 6 April 2027 and applies at a threshold of 10,000 sq ft.
n.a.
Wingville Township two-year data center moratorium (blocked by county)
other Township moratorium blocked by county board 21 July 2026 (reported 22 July 2026)
Unnamed developer (300-acre site inquiry) Grant County Board of Supervisors
The Grant County Board of Supervisors on Tuesday 21 July 2026 blocked Wingville Township's attempt to adopt a two-year data center moratorium. County leaders said a data center developer had been knocking on doors in the rural township near Montfort. The Telegraph Herald reports the developer is eyeing a 300-acre site.
n.a.
Wisconsin Rapids 12-month data center development moratorium
moratorium Adopted unanimously by the Common Council on Monday 5 October 2026; 12 months from publication; single outlet
n.a. City of Wisconsin Rapids Common Council
On Monday 5 October 2026 the Wisconsin Rapids Planning Commission held three public hearings and voted unanimously to recommend a 12-month development moratorium on rezonings and land divisions that would enable data center development, plus zoning amendments creating a Data Center Overlay District, outside which data centers may not be built. The Common Council met in special session immediately afterward and approved all three items unanimously. The city attorney said the moratorium takes effect the day after legal publication.
n.a.
Wrightstown advisory referendum on data center support
other Advisory referendum 11 August 2026
n.a. Village of Wrightstown, Brown County
Village voters rejected an advisory referendum on 11 August 2026 asking whether the village should support or help build municipal infrastructure for large-scale data center development in or near the community. The result was 1,033 to 151 against, about 87%. The referendum is advisory and non-binding, and the village board is not required to act on it. The village board placed it on the ballot after residents raised concerns about the Cloverleaf project. The trade association NetChoice sought to keep the question off the ballot, arguing it violated state law.
n.a.
Financing

Financing transactions tied to Wisconsin sites

Transactions the atlas ties to a named site in Wisconsin: joint ventures, project bonds, credit facilities, leases and power agreements. Amounts are as stated; overlapping commitments are never summed.

PartiesInstrumentAmountDateSiteSources
Oracle + We Energies (WEC Energy Group) + NextEra Energy (Point Beach owner)
On Friday 2 October 2026 Oracle and We Energies announced an agreement under which Oracle would subscribe to between 10% and 20% of the generation We Energies buys from NextEra's Point Beach Nuclear Plant in Manitowoc County, to help supply the Port Washington campus (Project Lighthouse) that Oracle is developing with OpenAI. The Journal Sentinel reports the subscription at 125 to 250 MW, roughly 10% to 20% of the 1.3 GW campus's consumption. We Energies and Oracle say the arrangement would spare other customers about $300 million of fuel costs over five years; that is a ratepayer savings estimate, not a contract value. The agreement requires approval by the Public Service Commission of Wisconsin, and Oracle expects the proposal to be filed by the end of 2026.
power supply agreement n.a. Announced Friday 2 October 2026 (Oracle and We Energies); subject to Public Service Commission of Wisconsin approval Vantage Lighthouse campus
Policy context

What governs a data center in Wisconsin

Wisconsin (statewide summary)state
C.4 floors: 500 MW (Caledonia); $5.6B cancelled plus $15B under moratorium; 5 projects.
Wisconsin's 2025 cancellation wave totals $5.6B across four projects, and Madison placed the $15B Vantage/OpenAI/Oracle campus under a one-year moratorium on January 13, 2026.
Wisconsin (PSC financial guarantee rule for hyperscale customers)state
Data center customers with credit ratings below A- must post cash or letters of credit under We Energies' approved large-customer rate structure
The Wisconsin PSC let a We Energies rehearing petition expire on 9 July 2026 without any commissioner moving to reopen the case, leaving in place financial guarantees, approved in April 2026, that Oracle said would cost about $100 million a year. Oracle, which is developing the $15 billion Port Washington campus with OpenAI and Vantage, filed a notice of voluntary dismissal of its June lawsuit in Ozaukee County Circuit Court on 17 August 2026, and the PSC said it stands behind its decision.

The policy layer for Wisconsin lives in three companion references: the Wisconsin Data Center Moratorium Tracker for every state measure and local moratorium on record, the Water Tracker for the water rules that touch a site, and the Grid Operator Watchlist for the large-load rules of the RTO or utility that decides whether it can energize.

On the map

Data centers in Wisconsin

The US Data Center Map identifies 37 facilities run by 28 operators in Wisconsin, each one placed from primary sources and listed by city and by operator, with this atlas record beside it.

Sources

Sources for Wisconsin

Every source cited on this page, once each. The full atlas source register is at Capital Atlas sources.

The SAVRN reference set

Seven references, one system

Capital, delay, policy, water, grid, permits and scarcity are one system seen from seven sides. Each reference is primary-sourced, refreshed on a schedule, and links into the others, so a project can be followed from the money committed to the docket that stopped it.

Have a specific address? Site Intelligence reads all seven references against one location, county, utility and grid operator included, and cites every finding.
Check an address →