Skip to page content
SAVRN
Search Plan a project
SAVRN Research · Capital Atlas · Arizona

Arizona Data Center Investment Tracker

Arizona carries 11 named site commitments worth at least $25.4B in disclosed capital, set against 11 projects blocked, delayed or restricted, 5 cancelled or blocked and 3 delayed or under moratorium, as of October 8, 2026.

Updated October 8, 2026 11 named sites 11 blocked, delayed or restricted 2 financing transactions 45 sources
Arizona
AZ
10 capital providers on record
Named sites
11
Site-level commitments the atlas records in Arizona
Disclosed capital floor
$25.4B
Sum of sites with a stated dollar figure. Sites without one are listed, not counted
Disclosed capacity
1,416 MW
Sum of sites with a stated megawatt figure
Blocked, delayed or restricted
11
$34.1B of announced capital in those projects
Who is investing

Who is investing in data centers in Arizona?

The largest disclosed commitments in Arizona are Tract (Tract Goodyear/Buckeye project, $14.0B); Amazon (AWS) (Project Blue, Tucson, $3.6B); Prime Data Centers (Prime PHX01, Avondale, $3.0B). Together the 11 named sites here carry a disclosed floor of $25.4B; sites with no dollar figure are listed but not counted.
Named sites

Named data center sites in Arizona

Each row is one site-level commitment with its capital provider, the figure the source states, and the status the source gives it. Capital is shown as one compact figure; the verbatim wording is in the row's sources.

SiteCapital providerPlaceCapitalMWStatusSources
Tract Goodyear/Buckeye project
withdrawn May 2024
Tract n.a. $14.0B n.a. withdrawn
Project Blue, Tucson
Rejected; Tucson subsequently adopted new datacenter approval rules (reported August 2026)
Amazon (AWS) Tucson $3.6B n.a. rejected
Prime PHX01, Avondale
announced May 2026
Prime Data Centers Avondale $3.0B 240 announced
Copia Power site west of Phoenix
The Carlyle Group n.a. ~$2.0B n.a. construction
Goodyear data center campus
Microsoft (Azure) Goodyear $1.5B n.a. expansion
Mesa data center
Online as of January 2025 announcement
Meta Platforms
with Salt River Project
Mesa ≥$1.0B n.a. operating
El Mirage land acquisition
Microsoft (Azure) El Mirage $258M n.a. announced
Tonopah film studio, retail and data center complex (data center and technology campus)
Zoning approved by the Maricopa County Board of Supervisors in September 2026 (exact date not stated); reported 30 September 2026; single outlet
Arizona Land Consulting (Anita Verma-Lallian)
with Camelback Productions
Tonopah (unincorporated), Maricopa County n.a. 1,000 approved
Vantage Phoenix campus
Vantage Data Centers Phoenix n.a. 176 operating
Data center site, southeast corner of 7th Avenue and Grant Street, Phoenix
Sale recorded 17 September 2026; reported 22 September 2026; single outlet (Phoenix Business Journal, syndicated by ABC15)
GI Partners
with LKY Development (seller)
Phoenix, Maricopa County n.a. n.a. proposed
Grande Valley Industrial Data Center Campus
Conditional use permit approved 6-1 on Thursday 1 October 2026
Not disclosed (applicant Colliers Engineering & Design)
with Bloom Energy (on-site fuel cell power), Gammage & Burnham (applicant counsel)
Casa Grande, Pinal County n.a. n.a. approved
Capital at risk

Blocked, delayed or restricted in Arizona

Every project in Arizona on the atlas's capital-at-risk record: the action taken, who took it, and the announced capital affected. Restarts and reversals are recorded with the same weight as blocks.

ProjectDeveloperJurisdictionActionCapitalSources
Goodyear/Buckeye campus
withdrawn May 2024
Tract Maricopa County
Withdrawn
$14.0B
Project Range
cancelled May 1, 2024
Tract Maricopa County
Tract withdrew its $14B 'Project Range' application for a 30-building, 5.6M sq ft data center campus on ~1,000 acres near Yuma and Perryville roads in unincorporated Maricopa County.
$14.0B
Project Blue
rejected Aug 2025; project continued outside city limits per source narrative
Beale Infrastructure (AWS-linked) Tucson / Pima County
City Council voted unanimously to end annexation negotiations Aug 5-6 2025
$3.6B
Chandler AI data center (Queen Creek and Dobson roads)
rejected Rejected 11 December 2025
Not named in reporting City of Chandler
The Chandler City Council voted 7-0 on 11 December 2025 against a proposed $2.5 billion AI data center on 40 acres near Queen Creek and Dobson roads. Neighbors cited noise already heard from existing data centers in the Price corridor. Former U.S. Sen. Kyrsten Sinema had lobbied the council for the project in October 2025.
$2.5B
Arizona three-year pause on data center sales tax exemptions
paused Budget deal announced 9 June 2026; pause runs three years
n.a. State of Arizona (Governor and Legislature)
Gov. Katie Hobbs and legislative leaders announced a budget deal on Tuesday 9 June 2026 that includes a three-year pause on tax exemptions for new data centers. The exemption, enacted in 2013, lasts up to 10 years for qualifying projects. The pause does not affect data centers already receiving the breaks, and companies can still build without them. Senate Majority Leader John Kavanagh said canceling existing incentives would have led to litigation.
n.a.
Hualapai Indian Reservation data center moratorium
moratorium Enacted August 2026
n.a. Hualapai Indian Reservation
Hualapai Indian Reservation, Arizona, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated August 2026. Tribal Council passed resolution opposing data center construction on reservation land, citing water scarcity on the Colorado River, light pollution, and wastewater concerns. Tribal sovereignty makes this effectively a ban on all reservation land. The measure has no end date by design.
n.a.
La Osa Energy Center
rejected Rejected 4-1 on 26 August 2026
Vermaland Pinal County
The Pinal County Board of Supervisors rejected the rezoning 4-1 on 26 August 2026. Vermaland had cut the project to roughly 80 percent of an earlier proposal of 59 data center buildings and 3 GW of energy demand, moved buildings several miles from neighbors, offered 22 additional development conditions between May and August 2026, and proposed a 600 acre-foot cap on fresh water, roughly 200 million gallons, with potential offset through effluent purchases from the Central Arizona Irrigation and Drainage District. Supervisor Jeff Serdy said he voted the will of the residents. Neighbors raised aquifer depletion, air quality, noise, wildlife and property value concerns and questioned whether power could be sourced reliably from more than 100 miles away.
n.a.
Marana data center rezoning referendum petitions (Beale Infrastructure)
litigation Rezoning January 2026; petitions rejected February 2026; Superior Court arguments 27 April 2026; Court of Appeals affirmance reported 1 October 2026 (ruling date not stated; single outlet for the appellate ruling)
Beale Infrastructure (Fremont Peak Properties) Town of Marana; Arizona Court of Appeals, Division Two
The Marana Town Council unanimously rezoned two adjacent agricultural parcels for a data center in January 2026. In February 2026 the town clerk rejected two referendum petitions because the copies circulated to voters lacked required exhibits with the legal descriptions, and a Pima County Superior Court judge later upheld the rejection and denied a request by Beale subsidiary Fremont Peak Properties to compel the town to accept the petitions' withdrawal. A three-judge panel of the Arizona Court of Appeals, Division Two, unanimously affirmed the judgment for the town, leaving the zoning approvals in place with no ballot vote.
n.a.
Pima County 120-day data center moratorium (unincorporated areas)
moratorium Approved 3-2 on 22 September 2026; 120 days, extendable; Goldwater Institute demand letter to rescind sent 28 September 2026
n.a. Pima County Board of Supervisors
On Tuesday 22 September 2026 the Pima County Board of Supervisors voted 3-2 for a resolution barring new data center projects in unincorporated areas from moving forward for 120 days, with a possible extension, while the county writes zoning requirements and studies air, water, land use and cumulative impacts. An amendment limited it to projects that had not yet submitted permits, which exempts Beale Infrastructure's Project Blue and the proposed 160-acre Project Gravel south of Tucson. This is separate from the City of Tucson's August 2026 data center ordinance (row 337). On 28 September 2026 the Goldwater Institute, a libertarian legal advocacy group, sent the Board of Supervisors a demand letter asking it to rescind the moratorium immediately, arguing that Arizona law allows county moratoria only for a shortage of essential public facilities or a compelling need defined as a clear and imminent danger to public health and safety, and that the pause raises claims under the state's Private Property Rights Protection Act. The supervisors who voted against the moratorium had cited legal concerns. No lawsuit had been reported as of 30 September 2026.
n.a.
Project Blue energy service agreement with Tucson Electric Power (rehearing suit)
litigation ACC approval December 2025; suit filed about a month later; hearing 24 September 2026, no ruling
Project Blue developers; Tucson Electric Power counterparty Maricopa County Superior Court / Arizona Corporation Commission
Arizona Attorney General Kris Mayes sued to force a rehearing of the 10-year energy service agreement between Tucson Electric Power and Project Blue about a month after the Arizona Corporation Commission approved it in December 2025, arguing the city of Tucson and others were denied due process, cost-shifting risks were ignored and the contract lets TEP and Project Blue set future rates without commission approval. Judge Randall H. Warner heard another round of arguments on 24 September 2026, discussed adding a stipulation making commission approval of rate changes explicit, and did not rule on the rehearing request.
n.a.
Tucson large-scale data center ordinance
other Approved 6-1, reported 10 August 2026
n.a. City of Tucson
The Tucson City Council approved 6-1 its first large-scale data center rules. Facilities over 25,000 square feet or 20 MW need mayor and council approval and must sit half a mile from residential areas and 1,000 feet from office or commercial uses, with a 50-foot height cap. The rules also require electricity availability verification, energy source disclosure and compliance with potable water limits.
n.a.
Financing

Financing transactions tied to Arizona sites

Transactions the atlas ties to a named site in Arizona: joint ventures, project bonds, credit facilities, leases and power agreements. Amounts are as stated; overlapping commitments are never summed.

PartiesInstrumentAmountDateSiteSources
Carlyle (seller) + EQT
Carlyle agreed to sell its power and AI infrastructure platform Copia Power to EQT.
acquisition ≥$2.6B completion expected by the end of 2026 Copia Power site west of Phoenix
GI Partners + LKY Development
GI Partners bought a 5.43-acre data center site at the southeast corner of 7th Avenue and Grant Street in Phoenix from LKY Development for $14,720,919 on 17 September 2026. The project had been threatened by Phoenix's 2025 data center zoning rules and is proceeding under a Proposition 207 waiver granted by the city.
acquisition $15M Recorded 17 September 2026 (Maricopa County property records); reported 22 September 2026; single outlet Data center site, southeast corner of 7th Avenue and Grant Street, Phoenix
Policy context

What governs a data center in Arizona

Tucsoncity
New rules gate any project >25,000 sq ft or >20 MW, while the city explores ban options; restrictive zoning proposed April 2026.
Tucson adopted new data center rules with square-footage and megawatt gates after unanimously ending Project Blue annexation negotiations in August 2025.
Phoenixcity
Eleven landowners are suing the city of Phoenix for $753 million, claiming property value losses from data center restrictions passed the prior summer.
Chandlercity
Ordinance 5033, effective January 5, 2023, restricts data centers to PAD zoning.
Chandler's ordinance predates the 2024-2026 wave and confines data centers to Planned Area Development zoning.
Arizona (statewide)state
Statewide FY2027 budget tax-break pause and HB 2756 (Jun 2026); proposed 45% data center rate increase before the ACC; C.4 floors: queue 19-30 GW vs. APS peak ~8.2-8.7 GW; $17.6B at risk ($14B Tract + $3.6B Project Blue); 5 tracked actions.
Arizona enacted a statewide FY2027 budget tax-break pause and HB 2756 in June 2026, while the ACC considers data-center-specific rates. The governor supported removing industry tax incentives.
Arizona (ACC large-load review process for AEPCO member cooperatives)state
Covers very large customer arrangements at Graham County, Duncan Valley, Sulphur Springs Valley, Trico and Mohave electric cooperatives
The Arizona Corporation Commission approved on 12 August 2026 an Arizona Electric Power Cooperative filing that routes every case involving a very large power customer through a single review track with standard disclosures, so that serving data centers and other large loads is not shifted to residential and small retail members.

The policy layer for Arizona lives in three companion references: the Arizona Data Center Moratorium Tracker for every state measure and local moratorium on record, the Water Tracker for the water rules that touch a site, and the Grid Operator Watchlist for the large-load rules of the RTO or utility that decides whether it can energize.

On the map

Data centers in Arizona

The US Data Center Map identifies 201 facilities run by 53 operators in Arizona, each one placed from primary sources and listed by city and by operator, with this atlas record beside it.

Sources

Sources for Arizona

Every source cited on this page, once each. The full atlas source register is at Capital Atlas sources.

The SAVRN reference set

Seven references, one system

Capital, delay, policy, water, grid, permits and scarcity are one system seen from seven sides. Each reference is primary-sourced, refreshed on a schedule, and links into the others, so a project can be followed from the money committed to the docket that stopped it.

Have a specific address? Site Intelligence reads all seven references against one location, county, utility and grid operator included, and cites every finding.
Check an address →