Nebraska Data Center Investment Tracker
Nebraska carries 3 named site commitments, set against 16 projects blocked, delayed or restricted, 16 of them moratoria or delays, as of October 8, 2026.
Who is investing in data centers in Nebraska?
Named data center sites in Nebraska
Each row is one site-level commitment with its capital provider, the figure the source states, and the status the source gives it. Capital is shown as one compact figure; the verbatim wording is in the row's sources.
| Site | Capital provider | Place | Capital | MW | Status | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Project Horizon data center (Kearney) Approved unanimously 8 September 2026; single-outlet report (Nebraska TV) |
Starwood Digital Ventures with MARA Holdings |
Kearney, Buffalo County | n.a. | 368 | approved | |
Monolith Olive Creek data center (built by Crusoe) Planning commission recommendation Wednesday 16 September 2026; special use permit approved 5-0 by the village board Monday 5 October 2026 |
Monolith with Crusoe |
Hallam, Lancaster County | n.a. | 35 | approved | |
Sagebrush Infrastructure Partners hyperscale campus land (west of Hallam) Purchase agreements signed December 2025 to March 2026; reported 30 August 2026 (Lincoln Journal Star); single outlet fetched |
Stark Power (Sagebrush Infrastructure Partners) | Hallam, Lancaster County | n.a. | n.a. | proposed |
Blocked, delayed or restricted in Nebraska
Every project in Nebraska on the atlas's capital-at-risk record: the action taken, who took it, and the announced capital affected. Restarts and reversals are recorded with the same weight as blocks.
| Project | Developer | Jurisdiction | Action | Capital | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Box Butte County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Box Butte County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Box Butte County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Box Butte County. |
n.a. | |
Broken Bow six-month data center moratorium moratorium Enacted 14 July 2026; six months, extendable 12 months |
n.a. | City of Broken Bow | Broken Bow's city council enacted a six-month data center moratorium on 14 July 2026, extendable by up to 12 additional months. It ends early if a data center ordinance is approved. The mayor said the city had nothing on the books to regulate data centers. |
n.a. | |
Butler County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Butler County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Butler County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Butler County. |
n.a. | |
Cass County (Nebraska) 12-month data center moratorium moratorium Approved 5-0 on 11 August 2026; 12 months |
n.a. | Cass County Board of Commissioners | After a public hearing, the Cass County Board of Commissioners voted 5-0 on 11 August 2026 to approve a 12-month moratorium on permits for data centers, and tabled proposed data center regulations to 22 September 2026. The county moratorium stops at the edge of Nehawka's extraterritorial zoning jurisdiction. |
n.a. | |
Custer County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Custer County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Custer County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Custer County. |
n.a. | |
Dundy County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Dundy County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Dundy County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Dundy County. |
n.a. | |
Furnas County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Furnas County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Furnas County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Furnas County. |
n.a. | |
Gage County 12-month data center moratorium moratorium Approved 16 September 2026; 12 months |
n.a. | Gage County Board of Supervisors | Gage County supervisors approved a 12-month moratorium on data center permits on Wednesday 16 September 2026 while the county develops regulations. The county already had an eight-month moratorium, and the Planning and Zoning Commission had recommended 18 months. Supervisors said they heard from residents seeking the full 18 months, including some opposed to any data center in the county. Supervisor Emily Haxby said the county has no data center regulations in place. |
n.a. | |
Harlan County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Harlan County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Harlan County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Harlan County. |
n.a. | |
Hayes County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Hayes County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Hayes County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Hayes County. |
n.a. | |
Johnson County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Johnson County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Johnson County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Johnson County. |
n.a. | |
Kearney County (Nebraska) data center moratorium moratorium In place by 16 July 2026; adoption date and term not stated; single outlet |
n.a. | Kearney County Board | Nebraska Public Media reported on 16 July 2026 that Kearney County was one of eleven Nebraska counties that already had a data center moratorium in place when Logan County approved a 12-month moratorium on 15 July 2026. The source does not give the adoption date, vote or duration for Kearney County. |
n.a. | |
Logan County (Nebraska) 12-month data center moratorium moratorium Approved Wednesday 15 July 2026; 12 months; single outlet |
n.a. | Logan County Board of Commissioners | The Logan County Board of Commissioners voted on Wednesday 15 July 2026 to approve a 12-month moratorium on data centers, making Logan the 12th Nebraska county to halt data center construction. The ban also covers wind and solar systems and cryptocurrency mining while the county rewrites its comprehensive plan and zoning regulations. |
n.a. | |
Nehawka data center moratorium moratorium Enacted August 2026 |
n.a. | Nehawka | Nehawka, Nebraska, enacted a local data center moratorium or ban, recorded in SAVRN's moratorium tracker as dated August 2026. Indefinite ban on data centers, crypto mining, blockchain computing, and power plants to run them; first municipality in Nebraska to pass an outright ban. Cited as blueprint by residents of Union, Murray, and Plattsmouth. The measure has no end date by design. |
n.a. | |
Otoe County (Nebraska) one-year data center moratorium moratorium Passed 19 May 2026; one year |
n.a. | Otoe County Board of Commissioners | Otoe County commissioners passed a one-year moratorium on data centers at their Tuesday 19 May 2026 meeting, and the board chairman appointed a committee to update the decade-old comprehensive development plan, which defines data centers but does not place them on the land use map. Power plants, which data centers are being required to have alongside them, are within the committee's scope. |
n.a. | |
Seward County (Nebraska) one-year data center moratorium moratorium Approved 30 June 2026; one year or until regulations are adopted |
n.a. | Seward County Board of Commissioners | Seward County commissioners unanimously approved a moratorium on data center construction on Tuesday 30 June 2026, with two members absent. It lasts one year, unless extended, or until the county drafts and finalizes data center regulations. |
n.a. |
Financing transactions tied to Nebraska sites
Transactions the atlas ties to a named site in Nebraska: joint ventures, project bonds, credit facilities, leases and power agreements. Amounts are as stated; overlapping commitments are never summed.
| Parties | Instrument | Amount | Date | Site | Sources |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Stark Power Ltd. (TASE: STRK) + Sagebrush Infrastructure Partners, LLC Israel-based Stark Power agreed to acquire 100% of Sagebrush Infrastructure Partners, a developer of hyperscale data centers with co-located natural gas power plants. Sagebrush's portfolio is five hyperscale campuses in active development across the Central U.S. totaling about 5.6 GW of IT capacity, anchored by Sagebrush 1, which Stark says has a phased pathway to more than 1.5 GW of IT capacity. |
acquisition | n.a. | Definitive agreement announced 8 June 2026 (Stark Power release) | Sagebrush Infrastructure Partners hyperscale campus land (west of Hallam) |
What governs a data center in Nebraska
The policy layer for Nebraska lives in three companion references: the Nebraska Data Center Moratorium Tracker for every state measure and local moratorium on record, the Water Tracker for the water rules that touch a site, and the Grid Operator Watchlist for the large-load rules of the RTO or utility that decides whether it can energize.
States next door
Data centers in Nebraska
The US Data Center Map identifies 39 facilities run by 20 operators in Nebraska, each one placed from primary sources and listed by city and by operator, with this atlas record beside it.
Sources for Nebraska
Every source cited on this page, once each. The full atlas source register is at Capital Atlas sources.
- nebraska.tvNebraska TV
- omaha.comOmaha World-Herald (Lincoln Journal Star)
- msn.comKOLN/KSNB via MSN
- omaha.comOmaha World-Herald, 6 October 2026
- 1011now.comKOLN 10/11 Now
- journalstar.comLincoln Journal Star, 30 August 2026
- nebraskapublicmedia.orgNebraska Public Media
- sandhillsexpress.comSandhills Express
- custercountychief.comCuster County Chief
- klkntv.comKLKN-TV
- nebraskapublicmedia.orgNebraska Public Media
- klkntv.comKLKN-TV
- omaha.comOmaha World-Herald
- wowt.comwowt.com
- 1011now.comKOLN (Nebraska City News)
- nebraskapublicmedia.orgNebraska Public Media
- prnewswire.comStark Power release (PR Newswire), 8 June 2026
- governor.nebraska.govOffice of Governor Jim Pillen
- 1011now.comKOLN 10/11 NOW
- 1011now.comKOLN 10/11 NOW
Every state, one page each
Figures beside each state are named sites and blocked, delayed or restricted projects.
Seven references, one system
Capital, delay, policy, water, grid, permits and scarcity are one system seen from seven sides. Each reference is primary-sourced, refreshed on a schedule, and links into the others, so a project can be followed from the money committed to the docket that stopped it.